Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 7, 2012/ 13 Adar, 5772

We can't always 'be there' when we're needed

By Sharon Randall




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The conversation was oddly reminiscent of one that took place some 20 years ago between my mother and her sister, my sweet Aunt Hazel.

On that occasion, Aunt Hazel phoned my mother, as she did most every day, only to be told in no uncertain terms that it was not a good time to talk.

"Hazel," said my mother, dabbing her mouth with a paper towel, "I can't talk right now. I'll have to call you back. I'm busy eating a Popsicle."

As the story goes, Aunt Hazel was so put off by what she perceived as my mother's rude response that she slammed the phone down in a huff without even saying goodbye or good riddance. And the two of them -- who were as close as two sisters and kindred spirits can be, and had spoken almost daily for years -- did not speak for weeks.

This time, yesterday, the circumstances were different, but the feeling was much the same. My sister was in a hospital in South Carolina, where she'd been a patient for several days, being treated for pneumonia. So I phoned her, as I had each day, for an update.

"Sissy," she said, "I'll have to call you back. I'm busy talking to two policemen."

Even for my sister, this was somewhat out of the ordinary.

"You're joking, right?" "No," she said. "I'll call you back." Click.

Have you ever noticed how long an hour seems if you pay close attention to its passage? "What took you so long?" I said, when she finally called.

"I told you," she said. "I was talking to two policemen."

OK, here's the story. The previous day, when she briefly left her hospital room to get a chest X-ray, someone (and she did not know who, which was good, because if she did, God help them) had stolen all her money from her purse.

Who steals money from a hospital patient? Turns out my sister was not the only victim.

"They said there was another theft on the same floor that day," she said. "If I could've caught the fool who did it ..."

I didn't wait for her to finish that sentence. Some things are better left unsaid.

"I'm sorry that fool stole your money," I said. "How are you feeling otherwise?" Despite the bad news of the theft, the good news was that she was feeling considerably better.

"They might let me go home tomorrow," she said. "What time will your plane land?" She laughed at her little joke, but not very hard.

"Sissy," I said, "I'd love to fly home and take care of you. But you know perfectly well, as I've told you several times, I've got jury duty starting next week."

"You can't postpone it?" "I've postponed it twice already. If I try again, they'll issue a warrant for my arrest."

"Fine," she said. "I guess I'll just have to fend for myself."

No. She most certainly will not have to fend for herself. Her children will look after her. Her neighbor, my friend Martha, will look in on her. Our cousins, the Dixie Hicks, will do all they can.

But it will not be the same as having me there at her beck and call to fix her iced tea or bring her a shrimp po' boy from the Southside Grill or sit beside her watching 12 hours of reruns of "Everybody Loves Raymond."

There are some things only a sister can do. And I wish I could be there to do them for her.

But such is life. We can't protect the people we love from pneumonia or theft or other hard realities. We can't always "be there" when we're needed. We can only do the best we can and hope that it's enough.

Soon, Lord willing, I'll get to go spend some time with her.

In the meantime, who knows? Maybe I'll send her a Popsicle.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.


Previously:


Picture-perfect memories

To love someone is to want to hear all their stories

With age should come at least some wisdom

A story for my grandson

Regretting she didn't help out a woman in need

Post-holiday-visit blues

For 2012, tuck some hope into your wallet

The measure of a time well spent is not where you went or what you did. It's the way you smile remembering it

Treating people we love like the Jello salad at Thanksgiving dinner

We all need something or someone to pull for

Hold on to treasured words, don't trust memory

A storybook princess

Love reaches forward, never back

How to Watch a Sunset

Waiting often comes with gifts

An exceptional book club

There is no guilt in moving forward

Celebrations full of love and buttercream

It takes a whole village of shoes to raise a child

The best stories always tell us who we are

Stop, look back . . . and listen

The great outdoors, if one's lucky, a rock-solid companion

An iChat with my grandson

Lightening bugs and other things make us glow

Each and every Fourth of July a cause for celebration



© 2012, SCRIPPS HOWARD NEWS SERVICE

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles