Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 1, 2012/ 7 Adar, 5772

Picture-perfect memories

By Sharon Randall




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | He's studying the image in the camera's viewfinder (that's been turned to face him), trying to make sense of what he sees.

Suddenly, he gets it: It's him!

A smile crinkles the corners of his mouth and lights a spark in his eyes. Shaking his head, he hoots, "Woo-ooo!"

And then, for the next 30 seconds, my 18-month-old grandson hams it up for the camera, making faces, waving his arms, jabbering away in a language all his own.

That video of Randy is stored on my computer, along with dozens of others, plus Lord only knows how many photos. And that's not even counting all the pictures I keep on my phone.

I carry them all with me whenever I travel and look at them often, sometimes several times a day. Somehow I can't quite seem to get my fill.

I wish you could see them.

One of my favorites features Henry, my grandson, almost 6 months old, sitting on his mama's knee, belly laughing at the antics of his two dogs. It's hard to say who laughs hardest, Henry or his mama or his nana.

There's one of Randy dunking a basketball; Henry nuzzling his blankie; Randy climbing in the dog crate with his two enormous Labs; Henry swatting the zebra on his gym mobile; Randy playing drums with his dad; Henry slurping milk from an eyedropper after his mama went back to work and he refused to take a bottle from his dad.

Each of those images captures for me a precious, fleeting moment I would have missed, if someone -- my daughter and her husband, or my son and his wife -- had not cared enough to record it and send it to me.

Those moments show up on my phone or my computer several times a day -- little bursts of electronic happiness that let me feel somehow more connected to my children and grandchildren 500 miles away.

Some people fear, with good reason, that email and text messaging will replace handwritten correspondence.

I hope they are wrong. I love handwritten letters. I seldom take time to write one, but I do love the rare occasion when someone sends one to me.

However, given a choice between e-communication and no communication at all, I will gladly take "e" every time.

My children grew up 3,000 miles from my parents. Sending photos was a lengthy ordeal. I had to: 1) buy film for the camera; 2) clean up the kids and make them sit still long enough to shoot their pictures; 3) take the film to the drugstore to get it developed; 4) go back to pick it up, sort through the photos to find a few decent shots and order extra prints; 5) pick up the extras, stuff them in envelopes (marked "Photos, do not bend!") and put them in the mail -- one set for each of my parents, who were divorced and didn't share.

It could take weeks or months. Back-to-school shots arrived in Christmas cards; Easter-basket pictures were mailed by July. But they always called, my mother and dad, to thank me for sending them. I guess, with grandchildren, even an outdated photo is better than none at all.

Imagine my surprise, after my parents were gone, to find they had kept every photo, every card or letter I had ever sent them.

Yesterday my husband downloaded to my computer some photos of Charlotte, his granddaughter, who is one day older than Henry. I especially liked the one of her lying on the grass wearing rabbit ears.

I'll save those photos with the others of Randy and Henry. I'll copy them on disks in case, God forbid, my computer crashes.

Maybe someday when I'm gone, they'll find them -- along with hundreds of handwritten cards and letters they'll have sent to me over the years. And they will know they were loved.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.


Previously:


To love someone is to want to hear all their stories

With age should come at least some wisdom

A story for my grandson

Regretting she didn't help out a woman in need

Post-holiday-visit blues

For 2012, tuck some hope into your wallet

The measure of a time well spent is not where you went or what you did. It's the way you smile remembering it

Treating people we love like the Jello salad at Thanksgiving dinner

We all need something or someone to pull for

Hold on to treasured words, don't trust memory

A storybook princess

Love reaches forward, never back

How to Watch a Sunset

Waiting often comes with gifts

An exceptional book club

There is no guilt in moving forward

Celebrations full of love and buttercream

It takes a whole village of shoes to raise a child

The best stories always tell us who we are

Stop, look back . . . and listen

The great outdoors, if one's lucky, a rock-solid companion

An iChat with my grandson

Lightening bugs and other things make us glow

Each and every Fourth of July a cause for celebration



© 2012, SCRIPPS HOWARD NEWS SERVICE

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles