Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 6, 2012/ 12 Adar, 5772

Ask the tax-prep expert

By Tom Purcell




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I've been self-employed for many years, which has made me an expert on tax preparation. With tax season upon us, my email queue is filling up with questions from readers.

Q: My dog is panting heavily. What could it be? -- North Dakota Norm

A: You appear to have the wrong advice column, but it could be that your dog is self-employed and has fallen behind on his quarterly IRS payments. Contact the IRS and negotiate a biscuit installment plan.

Q: My wife says we can get a big deduction by donating our underwear to charity. True? -- Fred from Philly

A: I remember news reports about the Clintons deducting boxes of underwear back in the 1990s, but don't get your hopes up. It's doubtful your deduction will be as big as the one generated by Bill's boxers.

Q: I am self-employed and earned $50,000 last year. I can make more working longer hours, but it seems like every extra dollar is taxed at 50 percent. -- Concerned in Colorado

A: I hate to break it to you, but you are correct. You are in the 25-percent federal income tax bracket. Social Security and Medicare total 15.3 percent (though there is a temporary 2 percent break). State income tax is 3.07 percent and local is 1 percent. Every dollar you earn beyond your current income is taxed at 44.37 percent.

Q: My dog stopped panting, but now my wife is panting! -- North Dakota Norm

A: Don't worry. Panting is a common affliction for Americans this time of year, as they spend precious hours complying with complex tax laws. Give your wife some bourbon.

Q: Someone told me that I am paying taxes on gasoline, utility bills, retail goods and many other things I am not even aware of. -- Perturbed in Pennsylvania

A: That is correct. If you were to calculate all the taxes you are paying, you would discover that well more than half your income is funding one tax or another. If America doesn't get its spending under control, you'd better hold tight to your wallet, because taxes are going to get worse.

Q: Didn't Franklin Delano Roosevelt say of Social Security that no damn politician will ever take it away? -- Curious in North Carolina

A: FDR did say that and, boy, was he right. Politicians have expanded the program well beyond its initial focus and now the only thing politicians are taking away is our money.

Q: This may sound dumb, but what is a tax bracket? -- Uncertain in Utah

A: A tax bracket is a heavy metal object that the government uses to hit you over the head every time you succeed in earning more money.

Q: Americans need to pay higher taxes like they do in Europe. -- Determined in Delaware

A: Do you really want America to be more like Europe? Most European countries have high government spending, high unemployment, slow growth rates, high inflation and governments on the verge of bankruptcy. Come to think of it, America is more like Europe than Europe.

Q: My wife is still panting, but we're out of scotch. What now? -- North Hills Norm

A: You'll have to go to the state-run liquor store and buy more -- and pay a big fat state tax markup in the process.

Q: If people are sick and tired of paying taxes, they should do what I did: Vote for Obama! I haven't paid a penny in taxes in more than three years! -- ut of Work in Ohio

A: Now there's a thought.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2012, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles