Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 12, 2012/ 19 Adar, 5772

Shouts about 'choice' and 'women's health' are disingenuous

By Kathryn Lopez




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | There is something special about a mother and her love.

We seem to know it innately. We tend to reflect it in our laws, at least family law. It's one reason "women's health" rhetoric, of which we've heard so much lately, resonates to the point of drowning out the details of any policy, controversy or testimony.

But such purported respect for women, and mothers, can also ring hollow.

Take, for instance, on a superficial but jarring level, the upcoming Radio and TV Correspondents dinner. Invited this year to the Washington-meets-Hollywood gala is comedian Louis C.K., brought in, we are told, to give the event "a bit of an edge."

And with that invitation, decency fell off a cliff.

I can't even relay some of the obscene things this man has said about former vice presidential nominee Sarah Palin. While he contends she would "Hitler up" Washington (this, about a woman who often wears a Star of David to express her solidarity with the Israeli people), most of his venom about her has to do with a crude obsession with her most intimate body parts. He also dubs her youngest child a "retard."

This has less to do with politics than with misogyny, unless politics itself has become nothing more than a sexual power play. If it has, you might be surprised to learn that it's not the GOP that has led the way.

The current White House mandate debate is not so much about birth control as it is about effectively shutting religious citizens and entities down when it comes to contraception, sterilization and even abortion. The government is saying, "Sure, you can believe that crazy stuff, but you can't practice it in the public square." The debate is an existential threat to liberty as we've known it in America.

Meanwhile, Republicans are said to be waging a "war on women" by doing such supposedly radical things as proposing bills that would protect conscience rights (by restoring them to where they were the day President Obama was inaugurated) and offer women a look at the ultrasounds that are often a routine part of the medical preparation for an abortion. It's ironic, isn't it? In both cases, legislation is about protecting choices. Isn't "choice" what self-proclaimed women's health advocates are all about? Or is it just one main choice -- treating pregnancy as a disease -- that is really of value?

At some point, the "women's health" shouting has got to stop so that the cries of women can be heard -- cries about the immiseration of a generation that bought into the false promises of a pill's lifestyle revolution. That pill's supposed freedom really meant an unhealthy subservience to a new creed of convenience and non-commitment in the name of professional success and independence.

This is something women allegedly wanted, and are now stuck with; so are men.

A New York Magazine cover story has not been alone in laying out some of the unmistakable side effects of the contraceptive revolution on women's fertility. We're all free to make our choices, but are we sure we know what we're walking into? Are we doing it because we want to, or because it's now what is expected?

When you walk up the steps to Calvary in Jerusalem, at the Church of the Holy Sepulchre, your eyes are quickly drawn to a statue of Our Lady of Sorrows, her heart pierced in pain. Whatever you think about the divinity of Christ, the man -- her son -- died. On a cross, after a brutal scourging. And she watched the whole thing. We honor that woman, we honor her sacrifice, her love, her pain. Free from theological debates, there is something special there. And the day we forget about her is the day something of our humanity is lost.

It is hard to walk away from her depiction here without seeing a message for our times. We are now being led to believe that widespread access to abortion and birth control is what motivates women, politically and otherwise, and that any impediment to their public funding and accessibility constitutes oppression. Pay no attention to the dissent among women. Palin? She's a c-word. And that's when she is not simply being dismissed.

The president of the National Organization for Women accuses the U.S. Catholic bishops of being "violently anti-woman" in "demanding that the government step in and use the force and ... police power of the state to prevent women from taking birth control because the bishops have failed." That statement is a violent disservice to the truth. Does she really want to stand by that? Does every member of the Democratic Party want to have to defend that comment?

The Catholic Church only proposes to honor its own morality. NOW, on the other hand, insists that politicians impose its values. That's exactly what the mandate does.

Our politics today is a sorrowful mystery. But we can change that -- by expecting more, as a start. "Transparency" is a buzzword; how about insisting it be an operating principle instead? If you want to shut Catholic and other religious believers out of the public square because you think true believers are actually troglodytes who are not to be tolerated in polite or legal company, say so, already. Or do you think that might be a step too far, because it would make your ideological intentions all too clear to people who might not be with you?

Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2012, Newspaper Enterprise Assn.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles