Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 22, 2012/ 29 Adar, 5772

Obama's Mantra: Don't Blame Me

By Bernard Goldberg



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | You have to feel sorry for President Obama. He gets such a bad rap.

Gas prices are high and going higher and despite what you hear from his enemies, it's not his fault.

We're in the midst of the weakest post-recession recovery since before World War II, and again, despite what his mindless detractors tell you, the lackluster economy nearly four years into his term isn't his fault either.

Now we learn that the 2010 shellacking the Democrats took in Congressional races — the one where they lost the House and every dope thought it was because the voters were fed up with the president and his party's runaway spending — well, we now learn that we were wrong, that that wasn't his fault either.

You know whose fault it was? Take a guess. If you said Fox News, pat yourself on the back.

According to a new book called Showdown, by Mother Jones journalist David Corn, President Obama told union officials in 2010 that he was "losing white males" because a lot of them watch Fox News and "hear Obama is a Muslim 24/7 and it begins to seep in."

There's just one problem with the president's analysis. It isn't true.

After quoting from Showdown on his newscast, Fox News anchor Bret Baier said, "For the record, we found no examples of a host saying President Obama is a Muslim."

So let's review: High gas prices have absolutely nothing to do with President Obama's war on coal, or his veto of the Keystone HL pipeline, or his decision to shut down drilling in the Gulf of Mexico, for a very long time, after the BP disaster, or his opposition to drilling in Alaska, or his war on frakking, to name just a few things that aren't his fault.

The weak economy? Two words: Bush's fault.

And now that perennial Obama White House villain pops up once more, Fox News, accused of doing something it didn't do.

For much of his life President Obama has been showered in praise. For much of his life he's been told that he's the smartest guy in the room. In school, kids were drawn to him because he was cool. When he got older journalists slobbered all over him for the same reason and also because he was young, liberal and black. Who among us wouldn't believe we were wonderful, and blameless, given so much affection?

If a majority of voters in November believe that our nation's problems aren't Mr. Obama's fault, but rather the dirty work of anti-Obama bogeymen all over the place, the president likely will win re-election. But if he loses, that won't be his fault either. The real reason, we will be told by liberal pundits, is racism in America — not concern about Mr. Obama's policies or his competence. The real reason, they will tell us, is that white people could no longer tolerate a black man in the nation's top position. And I suspect, Mr. Obama will believe it, too. After all, it couldn't be his fault.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment by clicking here.

JWR contributor Bernard Goldberg, the television news reporter and author of several bestselling books, among them, Bias, a New York Times number one bestseller about how the media distort the news. He is widely seen as one of the most original writers and thinkers in broadcast journalism. Mr. Goldberg covered stories all over the world for CBS News and has won 10 Emmy awards for excellence in journalism. He now reports for the widely acclaimed HBO broadcast Real Sports.

He is a graduate of Rutgers University, New Brunswick, New Jersey and a member of the school's Hall of Distinguished Alumni and proprietor of BernardGoldberg.com.


Previously:


03/19/12: The U.N. Human Rights Council --- and other Jokes
03/13/12: Bias in the News: Blame it on Their Zip Code
03/06/12: Thank Heaven for Rich People --- a Second Look
02/29/12: Some Free Advice for the Republican Field
02/28/12: Do We Have a Right to Lie?
02/16/12: Can Obama Win Re-Election by Promising Free Stuff?
02/06/12: The 5 Stages of Mitt
02/02/12: Florida Has Spoken; Cue the Fat Lady
01/30/12: The Other Global Warming Story
01/26/12: They See Racists Everywhere . . .
01/24/12: The Arrogant and Clueless Mainstream Media
01/23/12: Gingrich Wins SC --- Media Help Big Time
01/18/12: A New Entry for 100 People Who Are Screwing Up America
01/12/12: The Dream Ticket Could Be a Conservative Nightmare
01/11/12: Now 'Anybody But Romney' Has a Name
12/30/11: I Have a Confession to Make . . .
12/27/11: Know When to Hold 'em and Know When to Fold 'em
12/20/11: NBC News, the KKK and the State of Journalism
12/19/11: Mitt and Newt: Two Rich Guys Arguing Over Money
12/13/11: Donald Trump Is the Greatest; Just Ask Him
12/12/11: Rob Peter to Pay Paul: Bad Economics! Good Politics?
12/07/11: Yeah . . . and Fish Don't Know They're Wet, Either
12/06/11: Did the Media Play Fair with Herman Cain?
12/05/11: Obama to Blue-Collar America: Adios!
11/29/11: We Can Stop the Crazy Train Before It Gets to Greece
11/22/11: Who Can Beat Obama?
11/15/11: The Dumbest Media Question I've Ever Heard
11/09/11: What If Herman Cain Did It?
11/08/11: What If Herman Cain Were a Lib?
11/02/11: Who Can Beat Obama?
11/01/11: We're Approaching the Tipping Point
10/25/11: A Response to the Angry Purists
10/18/11: They're Waiting for Reagan to Hit the Campaign Trail
10/12/11: Read This!!! --- But Only If You Have Nothing Better To Do
10/04/11: Can Obama Win Re-Election?
09/27/11: It's NOT the Economy Stupid, It's Theology
09/20/11: Bad News on the Doorstep
09/09/11: Hypocrisy!
09/06/11: Back to the Future
08/24/11: Hillary vs. Obama in 2012? It'll Never Happen --- I Don't Think
08/22/11: Warning: Conservatives May Be Harmful to Your Mental Health
08/17/11: Warren Buffett, Coddled Billionaire
08/11/11: Too Much Balance in the Media?
08/04/11: All Aboard the Crazy Train
08/01/11: Liberal Hate Speech
07/25/11: With All Due Respect, Go Fly a Kite
07/20/11: Who Is A ‘Natural Born Citizen’?
07/18/11: Guess Who's Not Paying Their Fair Share
07/12/11: Against More Taxes? You May Be a Terrorist!
07/11/11: Casey Anthony: The TV Show
07/06/11: Standards and Double Standards at MSNBC
06/29/11: Is Jon Stewart A Racist?
06/21/11: Let's Play the Race Card --- Just for Fun Of Course
06/20/11: Sarah Palin and Weiner's Weiner
06/03/11: Memo to GOP: Turn Mr. Obama into Mr. Yesterday
05/20/11: I Get Letters From People Who Should Be Locked Up
05/09/11: Is ‘Torture’ Ever Justified?
05/02/11: The Promiscuous Use of the R Word
04/19/11: The Man Behind the Million Dollar Smile
04/12/11: What's the Difference Between Libs in Politics and Libs in the Media?
04/08/11: An Idea Whose Time Has Come — and Gone
03/28/11: The Pundits Are Driving Me Crazy --- And You Thought Qadaffi Is Nuts
03/14/11: No Liberal Bias at NPR — Just Ask NPR
03/10/11: The media's frustration
03/01/11: Progressives Lost in Time . . .
02/23/11: The Lamestreams Strike Again --- This Time in Madison
02/03/11: You MUST Own a Gun --- Or Else!
01/20/11: It Was Horrible, I tell you … HORRIBLE!
01/11/11: Here We Go Again . . .
01/06/11: You Go, Oprah
12/28/10: A Year-Ender --- The MSM and Obama's Fall from Grace 12/14/10: Thank Heaven for Rich People

12/02/10: The Phony Nobility of Wikileaks

© 2011, Bernard Goldberg

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles