Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 7, 2011 / 1 Adar II, 5771

Cut with a machete

By Cheri Jacobus



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | What triggers behavioral change?

The price of a gallon of gas has a greater psychological impact on Americans than pretty much any other item on which we spend our hard-earned money. Unlike increased cost of clothing, electronics or even food, we are reminded constantly of rising gas prices. Each and every day most Americans drive by several gas stations and see those ever-changing numbers as they rise or fall, whether we are filling our tanks that day or not. It's a daily grading of our economy, and of the job performance of a president.

We casually monitor and note that while yesterday regular gas was $3.38 per gallon, today it is up to $3.50. Or perhaps we even notice it's gone up since just the morning commute. But then we see something that really jolts us. $4 per gallon. That hits us. $3.99 per gallon — not so much. But $4 per gallon becomes a wake-up call and triggers a measurable change in our behavior.

We walk instead of drive. We plan our errands and outings fastidiously in order to consolidate and use less gas. We take vacations that are nearby or forgo them altogether. Teenagers are prohibited from driving the family car "just for fun," as so many in my generation suffered through during the Jimmy Carter years. (For that, I may never forgive him.)

$4 per gallon. That's the price point where we start to appreciate the beauty of an inert automobile. It's also the point where we start looking askance at a seemingly inert president who may be a bit out of touch with what's going on with the rest of us on a day-to-day basis. It's when we start throwing around words like ANWR and offshore drilling in everyday conversations, and we begin to point fingers at a president who seems more concerned with his ideological political base than our travails at the gas pump. $4 serves as a trigger.

Another number popped up this week that should also serve as a trigger for voter concern. $100 billion. Or — to make the point, let's take a gander at the scary number of zeros — $100,000,000,000. That's the amount of federal money a new GAO study tells us is wasted annually. Sen. Tom Coburn (R-Okla.) requested the study, and the results are shocking.

What will it take to trigger Washington's behavioral changes in response to $100 billion in waste and redundancy the way $4-per-gallon gas can trigger behavioral changes in average Americans? Congressional Republicans are gaining a degree of clarity about all of those zeros, but the sense of alarm with Democrats appears to be AWOL. It's difficult to take seriously their doomsday histrionics about how budget cuts will destroy the country now that we know that literally hundreds of billions of dollars can be saved over a few years by cutting waste, fraud and redundancy. It takes some of the roar out of Democrats' rants that the sky is falling if Republican budget cuts are adopted.

After the GOP won the congressional majority in the 1990s, then-Rep. Pete Hoekstra (R-Mich.), chairman of the subcommittee on Oversight for the House Education and the Workforce Committee (I was communications director for the full committee) launched an investigation into wasteful and duplicative education programs within the Department of Education and those strewn throughout the entire federal government. We discovered upwards of 750 federal education programs, and very few actually were teaching kids the basics they needed in life. Gems such as closed-captioning for "Baywatch" (because as we know, viewers tuned in for the scintillating dialogue), lessons on how to put on a condom for teenagers as part of the "Safe and Drug Free Schools" program, and five-feet-tall plastic toothbrushes in the same program, for which to this day I can't find a decent explanation, were among the wasteful ridiculousness eating up funds.

The GAO study needs to trigger massive behavioral changes in Washington. With 13 budget bills coming out of the committees, each committee should perform the same type of oversight as Hoekstra in the 1990s, pull out their machetes and get to work. Otherwise, there's another number looming that may trigger a very dramatic behavior on the part of voters — 11/6/2012.


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

To comment, please click here.


JWR contributor Cheri Jacobus, president of Capitol Strategies PR, has managed congressional campaigns, worked on Capitol Hill and is an adjunct professor at George Washington University's Graduate School of Political Management. She is a columnist for The Hill and appears on CNN, MSNBC and FOX News as a GOP strategist.


Previously:

03/02/11: $100,000,000,000 of waste is immoral 02/28/11: GOP 2012 hopefuls are getting in touch with their inner Cheesehead
02/14/11: Patriot Act needs diligence
06/15/10: Republican girl power
06/01/10: The petulant president
05/26/10: Party like it's 1994
04/26/10: For animals' sake, or yours
04/19/10: My friend Michael Steele should resign
03/16/10: Waste, fraud and abuse
02/24/10: Put down the shovel
12/22/09: Hurry up and slow down
11/24/09: Jury of peers
11/10/09: Czar light, czar bright
11/02/09: Reid's landmines
10/26/09: Public option for Congress
10/19/09: Big Brother wins
10/13/09: Dancin' DeLay
09/26/09: Paterson under the bus
09/14/09: Start over, Mr. President

© 2009, Cheri Jacobus

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles