Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Every Monday Matters:Traffic is overrated

By Matthew Emerzian and Kelly Bozza


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) Only 10.2 percent of workers rideshare.

52.5 cents per mile is the average cost to drive a car due to fuel, maintenance, tires, depreciation, and insurance.

$2,520 can be saved annually by each person in a 2-person, 40-mile roundtrip rideshare.

12,000 gallons of gasoline would be saved each year for every 100 people who paired up into a daily rideshare.

18 pounds of CO2 is produced by burning 1 gallon of gasoline.

A 10 percent nationwide increase in transit ridership would save 135 million gallons of gasoline a year.

34 percent of roads are in poor or mediocre condition due to heavy usage and lack of proper repairs. Save your car, the roads, and your tax dollars.

TAKE ACTION TODAY

1. Find a rideshare partner. Ask a co-worker, fellow student, or friend.

2. Check with your company or school to see if there is an organized rideshare program.

3. Follow these guidelines:


  • Meet new rideshare partner(s) before your first commute.

  • Discuss preferences like seating arrangements, music, eating, cell phone usage, and smoking.

  • Set up a probationary period to try out the arrangement.

  • Provide information about your rideshare partner(s) to someone else in case of emergency.

  • Create an equitable driving and cost arrangement.

  • Be punctual.

4. Do something meaningful with the $2,520 you save.

Ridesharing reduces gasoline usage, vehicle wear, traffic, stress, pollution and dependency on foreign oil. With every 100 people who pair up daily and rideshare for a year, we keep 1,848 pounds of hydrocarbons, 1,320 pounds of carbon monoxide, 792 pounds of nitrogen oxides, and 2,376,000 pounds of carbon dioxide from entering the atmosphere. You might even make a friend or two.

YOU MATTER

"I never thought I would enjoy sharing a ride to work, but I am now officially a 'ridesharer'," proudly admitted Kelly Barilek of Oklahoma City, Okla. "It has completely changed my commuting experience."

Although the percentage of people who rideshare to work is a dismal 10 percent of the total work force, at some point in time, nearly 100 percent of them shared the same sentiments as Kelly. They were 100 percent against, now they are 100 percent for it.

"Looking back, I think I was a bit nervous about it because even though these were co-workers of mine, they were still pretty much strangers. I made it a point to kind of get to know them at work before I committed to doing a rideshare program with them," shared Kelly. "But once we all got to know each other better, it calmed the nerves for all of us."

Kelly's company, like many others, offered an incentive for employees who joined a rideshare program. It was part of their corporate social responsibility program. They sent emails and posted signs in common areas to see if they could get 20 percent of their work force to commute to work together.

The misperceptions of ridesharing are numerous - "I don't want to lose my freedom," "I find it scary," or "What difference does my one car make?" But, often these are not accurate and the benefits easily outweigh the misperceptions.

"I could go on for hours about all of the things I enjoy about ridesharing," said Kelly. "I have saved so much money in gas and wear and tear on my car, I feel more relaxed when I get to work and arrive back at home in the evening, and, best of all, I have made some amazing friends."

Kelly and one of her rideshare partners have literally become "best friends." According to her, the two of them have joined a gym together and now work out during lunch, they spent time together with their families on the weekends, and they look forward to their time in the car together to just talk and share life.

"It's better than coffee," said Kelly. Now I get to spend 30 minutes with my best friend every morning. What a great way to start your day."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.


Previously:



Show your smile
Donate books
What matters most
Support Neighborhood Watch

© 2009, The Modesto Bee Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles