Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Every Monday Matters: Thank a firefighter

By Matthew Emerzian and Kelly Bozza


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) There are more than 1,100,000 firefighters in the U.S.

73 percent of firefighters are volunteers, with 66 percent or more of fire departments staffed 100 percent by volunteers.

More than 100 firefighters die in the line of duty each year.

1.5 million or more fires are reported annually.

Fire kills more Americans than all natural disasters combined - more than 4,000 deaths annually.

The U.S. has one of the highest rates of death due to fire in the industrialized world.

TAKE ACTION TODAY

1. When you see firefighters in uniform, walk up and thank them for keeping you and your community safe.

2. Get out of the way: pull your car to the right when you hear a siren or see a fire truck with its lights on.

3. Organize your friends, co-workers, neighborhood, or child's class to create and deliver a thank-you card to your local fire station.

4. Develop a fire escape plan for your home.

5. Donate to firefighter benefits and causes.

6. Minimize your risk of fires - install smoke detectors, keep a fire extinguisher in your kitchen, don't overload power plugs, clear brush from around your house, and don't flick your cigarette butts.

Every day firefighters put their lives on the line to save people and property. Many of these firefighters are volunteers, so let's "pay" them by showing our appreciation, thanking them for the valuable service they provide, and letting them know that we are very aware of the significant positive impact they have on our communities. Firefighters, whether paid or not, make an incredible difference in our lives - so let's make a difference in theirs.

YOU MATTER

"Unfortunately, my family has become quite friendly with our local fire department," said Mark Henderson of San Diego, Calif. "Over the past few years our area has been hit badly by fires. At times it honestly felt like we were living in hell and there was no way out, but it never stopped the firefighters from driving right into the middle of it. Their courage is uncanny."

Firefighters are kind of like the dentist ... you really don't want to ever have to see them and certainly not get to know them. But maybe we should, for these men and women put themselves in harm's way for us.

"Last year, we lost every single house on our court except for ours. I literally stood there hopelessly and watched as the firefighters sprayed water straight up in the air to keep the flying embers from hitting our roof," shared Mark. "Somehow, some way, they did it. I still can't believe it."

But that is not the coolest part of this story, because, after all, the other 6 houses on Mark's court all burned to the ground (not fault of the firefighters). How could 6 out of 7 houses burned to the ground bring a community together? Well it did.

"Our neighborhood really came together after the fires were gone ... kind of like the firefighters came together to try to help us," said Mark. "We organized a week's worth of dinners for the local station. Since our house was the only house still standing, we let everyone use our kitchen."

So every night, for one week, one of the Henderson's neighboring couples came over to their house and cooked dinner for the firefighters. Then they drove the meal over to the station and served the firefighters as though they were in a restaurant.

"We didn't want them to have to lift a single finger," said Mark. "This was our turn to do the work and show our appreciation."

Not only were the firefighters grateful, but it also gave them the opportunity to express some things to the couples.

"One of the things we learned is that the firefighters felt terrible for not being able to save more homes," shared Mark. "I am so happy we all got the opportunity to tell them how much we appreciated their efforts. Our community was right in the thick of it, and we knew they did the best they could. We have nothing but love for this group of amazing people. They are our friends."

Mark, thank you for making sure these men and women know how much they matter. They will never forget your kind gesture. You Matter.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.


Previously:



Have fun with an elderly person
Traffic is overrated
Show your smile
Donate books
What matters most
Support Neighborhood Watch

© 2009, The Modesto Bee Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles