Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Every Monday Matters: Have fun with an elderly person

By Matthew Emerzian and Kelly Bozza


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) The fastest growing age group of the population is 85 years and older.

Every 7.5 seconds a Baby Boomer turns 60.

1 out of 5 people - 72 million - will be 65 years or older by 2030.

Nearly 23 percent of people aged 75 and older live in nursing homes.

Due to an increase in divorce rates, a decrease in the number of children, and more family members living farther away from one another, family support for the elderly is less available.

TAKE ACTION TODAY

1. Offer the elderly you see today simple gestures of courtesy and respect - smile and say "hello," let them have the right of way while driving, or give up your seat in a crowded area.

2. Contact a local independent living, assisted living, or continued care facility and ask if they need volunteers. You're likely to find a place to work with seniors closer than you think.

3. Ask the facility if children or pets are allowed.

4. Organize your family or a group of friends to go with you.

5. Be prepared. Volunteering at a senior or elderly care home can involve many types of activities - playing games or cards, reading, doing art and craft projects, singing songs, teaching a class, or just being friendly.

6. Ask the seniors questions about their life: where they grew up, what life was like, what jobs they had, and what their children and grandchildren are up to.

7. Have fun!

Our senior-citizen population is changing - and this group will grow by another 18 million people in the next 25 years. Today, seniors are living longer, are more full of life, have more expendable income, and have achieved higher levels of education. So, if you spend time with them, you might just find that a friendly game of gin rummy or bingo will teach you a thing or two ... about life.

YOU MATTER

"My neighbor is the cutest old man. Every day he sits on his front porch for hours and waves to whoever walks by. He always has a smile on his face, and I honestly look forward to seeing him," shared Nora Ward of Richmond, Va.

One day, after two years of just walking by and waving back, Nora decided to stop for a few minutes to say hello ... well, maybe for 2 hours.

"Besides finding out that his name is Sam, I learned all about his family and his life. Sam is 93 years old, born in Poland to a large Jewish family."

If our calculations are correct, that puts Sam being born in 1916. 1916 - The world was in the middle of World War I, Woodrow Wilson was serving as the 28th President of the United States, Monet painted his now famous Water Lilies series, and the Chicago Cubs played their first game at Weeghman Park (currently Wrigley Field) ... just a little perspective.

"I was blown away by Sam's life story," said Nora. "Sam lost his entire family during the Jewish Holocaust. Every single one of them - his mom, dad, two brothers, three sisters, two uncles, two aunts, two grandmothers, two grandfathers, and all of his cousins. He was the only one to escape."

Sam was able to jump a train to save his life. The train stopped in the former Soviet Union during the middle of winter. He had nothing and lost everything. He had to start over from scratch.

"As Sam shared his story with me for nearly two hours, he made me laugh and cry. It brought me a new perspective to life. I almost felt bad for the things I usually complain about and for those days that I walked by him and didn't return the same warm welcome because I had something stressful going on in my life," said Nora.

Eventually Sam got a job at as tailor where he met his future wife and headed for America. They have now been happily married for 56 years, living in the exact same house with the exact same front porch.

"When I left Sam that day, I told myself that I would make it a point to stop to talk with him once a week ... and I have," said Nora. "I guess it has been kind of a 'Tuesdays with Morrie' sort of thing. I can't begin to tell you how much Sam has brought to my life. I share with him some of my most intimate secrets. He treats me like his granddaughter. I have realized how much I would have missed out on if I never decided to stop that very first time. I just hope I bring him the same joy he brings me."

Nora, we are pretty sure you do.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.


Previously:



Traffic is overrated
Show your smile
Donate books
What matters most
Support Neighborhood Watch

© 2009, The Modesto Bee Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles