Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 9, 2009 / 13 Adar 5769

Name That Blago Book contest names its winner

By John Kass

John Kass
Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | "Rod and the Giant Impeach" is the winner of my Name That Blago Book contest, after a day of online voting in which readers selected their favorite title for former Gov. Rod "Dead Meat" Blagojevich's forthcoming steamy and possibly turgidly written expose of Illinois political sleaze (and maybe some sex, too).

Winner Kevin Floyd, 30, is a Notre Dame graduate who works in advertising in Chicago.

He will be honored at a special ceremony at 3 p.m. Friday out in front of the Tribune Tower, officiated by the most legendary politician in Chicago's history, the late Mare Daley.

The public is welcome to attend the ceremony and witness the reincarnation of Da Mare, as portrayed by my friend and actor, Neil Giuntoli, to celebrate Floyd's great triumph.

Floyd wins several prizes, including a fabulous 3-pound beef tongue (defrosted), in anticipation that Dead Meat will sing to the feds, as well as two tickets to an upcoming performance of "Hizzoner," a play about the late Mayor Richard J. Daley that stars Giuntoli.

"A beef tongue is a noble meat," said Hizzoner on Thursday. "I can't wait to give him this here beef tongue. Because, as you all know, beef tongue is a Chicago meat, a proud and humble meat that doesn't put on airs. It's the meat of the hard-working people of this great city."

When informed of his prize, Floyd said he would be honored to receive a beef tongue and free theater tickets from the legendary giant of Chicago politics.

"That sounds great. I'm a big fan of meat," Floyd said. "And like he (Da Mare) used to say, I won because I got the most votes."

Floyd recalled his inspiration.

"I read your column and decided to enter, and I thought of the impeachment of the governor, and about my childhood, when I read 'James and the Giant Peach' in fourth grade," said Floyd, who won with 22.3 percent of more than 10,000 online ballots cast.

Floyd's entry came on fast just before polls closed at 4 p.m. Thursday, and narrowly eclipsed two others that had been ahead all day, "From Hair to Profanity" (1,827 votes) and "They Paid Me a (Bleeping) Bucket of Cash to Write This (Bleeping) Book" (2,006).

Though I had urged all voters to engage in the time-honored tradition of voting early and often, Floyd declined to say how he won, exactly.

"Let's just say I had a lot of friends, and they decided to help me out a little bit," Floyd said.

There were thousands of suggested titles. Others that I picked for the top 10 and that were eligible in the voting included "Dr. Strangegov: Or How I learned to Stop Worrying and Love the F-Bomb" (1,352 votes); "The Grapes of Graft" (1,087), "Illinois Elvis: Just a Hunk, a Hunk of (Bleeping) Gov (555)"; "G-d is My Comb Pilot" (495 responses); "Prosecution Exhibit Number 1: The Defendant's Confession" (411); "Lonesome Gov" (325); and finally "The DeLeo Codes" (161), which was my favorite.

Thanks to all who sent in suggestions. Though the rest of you didn't win, at least you don't have to boil a beef tongue for six hours over the weekend.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

John Kass is a columnist for the Chicago Tribune. Comments by clicking here.



Previously:


03/05/09:Contest: Name Blagojevich's book
02/16/09: Dems undercut aid for U.S. workers
01/20/09: Let the carving begin on Tombstone's tomb
01/12/09: Obama serves Reid taste of Chicago Way
01/02/09: Jesters don't pick up the race card in a nationally televised news conference and slam it into the face of every Dem in the Senate, a palm heel strike to the tip of the nose, leaving all of them watery-eyed, their lips stinging
12/24/08: Governor waxes poetic, but Combine rolls on
12/23/08: Got corruption? Get Jesse Junior G-Man
12/18/08: Will ‘feditis’ spread to Obama and Daley?
12/15/08: Man behind curtain is wizard of Rod, Rahm

© 2008, Chicago Tribune. Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles