Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 4, 2008 / 27 Adar I 5768

Buckley lives

By Kathryn Lopez


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | When larger-than-life William F. Buckley Jr., founder of the magazine I love and the movement I am devoted to, died while working in his study Feb. 27, he left behind a thriving conservative movement.


You might think I'm crazy for using the word "thriving." I don't blame you. After all, didn't Newsweek just announce with a "There Will Be Blood" cover that right-wing, talk-radio hosts are devoted to destroying the Republican nominee for president? Didn't conservatives just fail in an overhyped quest for "the next Ronald Reagan"? Aren't some popular, right-leaning op-ed writers going for the jugular, admonishing political and ideological teammates to "grow up," quit the "temper tantrum" and just support John McCain for president?


Sure, that's all true. It's not always a happy family on the right side of the political spectrum. But those vital signs do not indicate a stagnant movement.


On the contrary, the Republican presidential primary (which, for all purposes, has been over since Mitt Romney dropped out at the beginning of February) was bursting with conservative life. As I was trying to wrap Christmas presents, colleagues were eagerly calling and asking, "Did you hear what Rush said today?" The king of talk radio was criticizing McCain and former Arkansas Gov. Mike Huckabee for their statist tendencies, while praising Fred Thompson and ultimately embracing Romney for his conservative policies and uplifting rhetoric about American exceptionalism. Rush Limbaugh may not have "won" in the end, inasmuch as McCain wasn't his preferred candidate, but he also wasn't playing a game with a scoreboard. He was reflecting on conservative principles. He was doing what he does every day; he was applying his basic political philosophy to real-life politics.


He was asking himself, "What would Bill Buckley do?"


In a conversation with Limbaugh a few months back, talking about issues long and short term, he told me that that's exactly the question everyone who calls himself a conservative should be asking. Not because we're unrealistically deifying our now-deceased friend and mentor, as some have accused us of doing with Ronald Reagan, but because Buckley was a founder, practitioner and teacher of this thing we call conservatism. His speeches, columns, magazine and books sought to answer one central question. What is Right here?


Buckley was never a Republican Party man so much as he was a conservative, always thinking about fundamental principles. So if Republicans in general, or one Republican candidate in particular, veered off course, it was his role to point that out; to criticize, publicly or privately; to offer guides for the practical application of that philosophy. In other words, what Limbaugh routinely does on his radio show. It's what writers at National Review do from their laptops. It's what thinking conservatives do and debate -- on a blog site, at a think tank or inside a conservative Capitol Hill office.


Conservatives are forever accused of being backward. We are supposedly anti-science because we've opposed human cloning and federal funding of research that destroys human embryos. We're accused of being anti-sex because we encourage personal responsibility, self-respect and fundamentals like marriage. In truth, we can't stop thinking about tomorrow -- what consequences may arise from our decisions today. We're trying to do what Buckley did. As he wrote in his publisher's statement in the first issue of National Review, we're "standing athwart history, yelling 'Stop!'"


Buckley has inspired three generations of conservatives, now with a string of proven, historic results under our belts. We've got our issues, sure. We've got policy battles, even among ourselves on the Right, but we're alive and kicking. And the words that Buckley wrote in the first issue of National Review are as true today as they were then: "We offer, besides ourselves, a position that has not grown old under the weight of a gigantic, parasitic bureaucracy, a position untempered by the doctoral dissertations of a generation of Ph.D.s in social architecture, unattenuated by a thousand vulgar promises to a thousand different pressure groups, uncorroded by a cynical contempt for human freedom. And that, ladies and gentlemen, leaves us just about the hottest thing in town."


So don't mistake the death of a legend with a rich legacy as the end of conservatism. For those of us who read, listened and learned from William F. Buckley Jr., there is work to do. He did what his talents and beliefs required of him, and so must we. Miles have gone by for conservatism, but there are miles to go yet.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2008, Newspaper Enterprise Assn.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles