Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 17, 2008 / 17 Adar II 5768

The politician and the prostitute: A morality play gone wild

By Mitch Albom


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | We crucify the man who paid for sex.


The woman who charged him, we turn into a star.


Go figure. In America, it seems, we like our characters prepackaged. And the prepackaged version of the Eliot Spitzer saga is this: Powerful Man, undone by hubris; Vulnerable Girl, caught up in something bigger than her.


So he's gotta go.


She can get rich and famous.


Sorry. I don't buy it. If paying for sex is a crime, then it's a two-party crime, same as buying and using drugs. There is no reason that Spitzer, the now former governor of New York, should be in shambles, facing possible criminal charges, while the prostitute he hired, Ashley Alexandra Dupre, is a star-on-the-rise, reportedly being offered immunity while fielding big-money offers for everything from photo shoots to having her rear end used by a Vodka company.


Yes, that's right. Georgi vodka, last week, was negotiating with the hooker (sorry, but that's her job title, not "victim") to paste the image of her rear end on buses all over New York for around $100,000, according to AdAge.com. Georgi even considered naming a vodka "No. 9," the FBI's code name for Spitzer.


He's out on his butt.


She's selling hers.


You good with that?

A WORLD GONE WILD
You shouldn't be. It's amazing how selective we can be with our outrage. When Spitzer was caught in this prostitution ring, there was no end to the moralizing over what a terrible thing he'd done. Around the country, millions of citizens called for his head. At the same time, millions of citizens were clicking on Dupre's MySpace page, enlarging her pictures, downloading her music. We vilified Spitzer for having interest in this woman, but it's OK to check her out on our computers?


Don't we see how hypocritical this makes us? Sure, he went over the proverbial line, he did the deed, while all we did was leer. But making this woman some kind of tragic celebrity reduces our moral outrage to childish yelling.


Why should Dupre suddenly be endorsement-worthy? Why should she command interest from book publishers? Why should people want to buy magazines with her naked on the inside? She was a prostitute before that night. She was a prostitute after it. Why is she entitled to a payoff for behavior that was an equal half of an illegal act?


Perhaps because, in the American narrative, someone must be to blame and someone must be a victim. So when this scandal broke, Spitzer was the arrogant, egotistical bully.


Meanwhile, Dupre was cast as a sympathetic runaway, a product of abuse, a wannabe singer who somehow fell into this tragic line of work. Most of this information came from Dupre's own Web page. That's an objective source, huh?


Not surprisingly, we haven't heard as much "tragic-victim" stuff after last week's revelations that poor little Dupre did a "Girls Gone Wild" video when she was 17 years old, spending a week on a bus and dancing around peeling her clothes off in front of a camera.


Those videos surfaced, and suddenly she looked less like the prey of a bad, bully governor, and more like another party kid using sex for celebrity.

THE JOKE'S ON US
Larry Flynt, the Hustler publisher, who sadly may know more about American culture than many high-browed sociologists, offered Dupre $1 million to appear nude in his magazine — the same amount the "Girls Gone Wild" people offered her before realizing she already had stripped down for them five years ago (for a lot less).


Think about that. A million bucks. You're smart with that, you can be set for years. How many waitresses or cleaning women would have their worlds changed with a check like that? How many legitimate, hard-working women will never see that much money in their lives?


Yet a woman involved in an illegal activity could avoid charges, get this money and be saluted for her sudden empowerment. And why? Because we will buy the magazine. We will watch the videos. We will book her on the TV talk shows. We will willingly participate in making her a star.


Spitzer was dumb enough to pay this woman for sex. But if we pay to make her famous, you wonder who's the more pathetic customer.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

MITCH'S LATEST
"For One More Day"  

"For One More Day" is the story of a mother and a son, and a relationship that covers a lifetime and beyond. It explores the question: What would you do if you could spend one more day with a lost loved one? Sales help fund JWR.



Comment on Mitch's column by clicking here.



Mitch's Archives


© 2008, THE DETROIT FREE PRESS DISTRIBUTED BY TMS, INC.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles