Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 14, 2007 / 24 Adar, 5767

Japan: On a (California) Roll

By Lenore Skenazy


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Japan. It's already trounced our auto industry, now it's aiming for our hearts and minds.


Well, not really. It's aiming for our stomachs. But still — it just may win. Remember when the idea of eating raw fish sounded like eating raw liver? Now look at you, with your eel this, and wasabi that. Japan knows how to change American culture and what do we have to parry with?


Edible balloons.


Trust me: I just ate my way through the International Restaurant Show and, according to a seminar on "Food Trends," the latest American invention is the mozzarella balloon.


These eerie orbs are made by warming the cheese and then somehow blowing it up, like those amazing bubbles kids used to make with special (vaguely toxic) Wham-O fluid. Drizzled with a balsamic reduction, the bladder-like balls are then deflated by the diner with a prick of the fork. Provided that the diner has not fled the restaurant, screaming.


It's hard to say who's really eager to eat an appetizer that looks straight out of "Grey's Anatomy," but, in any event, those balls just show how desperate we are. We're scraping the bottom of the cheese barrel. Most of the real breakthroughs were to be found in the Japanese pavilion.


For starters, there's GoGo Curry, the top curry chain in Japan, aiming to open in the States next month. The only food GoGo sells is a bowl of rice smothered in thick, lumpy, dark brown sauce. It looks so revolting you'd think we could rest easy, but my God — it tastes like a cross between curry, teriyaki and Julia Child's pan drippings. It's spectacular! And then it's topped with a helping of meat, chicken, shrimp or egg. How can the Colonel possibly compete with THAT?


So much for America's fast food advantage. But extremely slow food from Japan is coming, too. "In Japan, you're either trained as a sushi chef, a tempura chef or a kaiseki chef," according to food publicist Steven Hall. Kaiseki, he believes, is the next big thing: a meal consisting of many tiny delicacies, each served in an attractive little dish.


Tapas meets Toyota. Can't miss.


And just as we've all got a fondue pot somewhere in the basement from that brief moment of Swiss cultural hegemony, so we may soon have a home tofu maker, too. Those machines are on the way, as are Japanese strawberries the size of cupcakes and Wagyu beef, which is to Kobe beef as a Lamborghini is to a Lexus. Wagyu is so marbled that it actually looks (and tastes) like high-priced lard. And since when have Americans been able to resist fatty meat?


In a desperate attempt to promote all-American ingenuity, homegrown purveyors were touting things like Carmi Flavors' pancake-scented coffee. "If someone wants chocolate chunk with fish, we'll make it, too," said the salesman, John Duff.


And we wonder why the dollar's dropping.


A chicken company was pushing its new dipping sauce that tastes like raspberry jelly and, unfortunately, makes dinner taste like a school lunch. And then there's Molson Coors' orange juice-flavored concoction, Blue Moon. The result is a beer that tastes great at breakfast.


I'm not sure that's what our country needs.


Whether orange beer, fatty beef or Japanese curry is going to be the next maki roll is anyone's guess. But I think we can all pretty much predict the fate of the mozzarella balloon. And American cuisine.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR contributor Lenore Skenazy's column by clicking here.

Lenore Skenazy Archives

© 2007, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles