Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 30, 2007 / 11 Nissan, 5767

Tiny PC, reconsidered

By Mark Kellner

Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Running through the Washington, D.C., Convention Center to catch up with a newsmaker, I was suddenly very glad the computer I toted weighed 1.5 pounds. Yes, it's the same computer I had sort-of trashed two days earlier in print.


To be brief, I was wrong about the FlipStart, the $1,999 Windows XP-running micro-sized, ultra-portable PC. At least, I was mostly wrong in my original, somewhat snarky assessment. May I ask, gentle reader, that you join me for this reconsideration?


As I discovered during three days of commuting to, and working at, the 2007 edition of the Federal Office Systems Exposition, or FOSE, lightness is a plus. I had abandoned my car for the local Metrorail; schlepping a briefcase and portable computer wasn't my idea of a good time. Not even the only-4.5-pound HP Pavilion tx 1000 notebook/tablet PC. While that system is quite enjoyable, the extra three pounds wouldn't have been that much fun on the go.


So I decided to tough it out, slinging the carrying pouch for the computer around my neck, stuffing an external keyboard in one pocket, and the power adapter in another. The wireless external mouse slipped in the FlipStart carrying case.


And I was off to the races. Each day of the FOSE event, I was responsible for attending various presentations and writing news reports, which had to get back to Defense News, an industry newspaper published in Springfield, Virginia, quickly. The FlipStart unit I was testing had both Microsoft Office 2003 installed — more than adequate for the tasks I was charged with — and a built-in, wireless broadband data connection. (The FlipStart folks, as this is written, are keeping the wireless carrier's name under wraps.


Even in the "bowels" of the Washington Convention Center, or at least the lower exhibition area, the broadband service worked very, very well. That let me link up to e-mail, and the Internet, with ease. There were extra electrical outlets in the press room, so I could keep the FlipStart's battery charged. Almost all of my time there, I was online, and the computer was powered up.


Three intensive days of working on the road changed my appreciation for the FlipStart. It's not a "ruggedized" computer, but it can take demanding use well. The battery life is good, but it's better to have electricity handy. When functioning properly, which it did about 95 percent of the time, the "zoom" feature on the 5.6-inch (diagonal) screen is a tremendous help.


But I'm still not thrilled with the built-in FlipStart keyboard. Had I not had the ThinkOutside Stowaway keyboard, I don't know if I'd have written one-fifth of what I had done. The external Stowaway mouse was great, until I mislaid it. Both the Stowaway keyboard and mouse are options, which add about $230 to the total retail price.


Despite these hassles, the FlipStart proved itself where it counts. It gave me the productivity I would find in a regular desktop or notebook PC, without the additional weight. Those who consider a computer as an extension of their hands will know how valuable such performance can be while traveling.


Call me a flip-flopper: in this case, you'd be right. To paraphrase a well-known politician, I was against the FlipStart before I was for it. True road warriors may find they need this machine as much as I did while loping through an airport — or an exhibition.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Mark Kellner has reported on technology for industry newspapers and magazines since 1983, and has been the computer columnist for The Washington Times since 1991.Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2007, News World Communications, Inc. Reprinted with permission of The Washington Times. Visit the paper at http://www.washingtontimes.com

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles