Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 16, 2007 / 26 Adar, 5767

Perky, Perfect Portable

By Mark Kellner

Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Starting at just under $1,300, the Hewlett Packard Pavilion tx 1000 is a perky, near-perfect portable and, yes, I'm using near-perfect” for two weeks running. But just as impressive the Apple Inc. iMac was as a desktop computer, the HP Pavilion tx 1000 shines as an on-the-go portable. Neither computer is for everyone, but the Pavilion might well fit your needs quite nicely.


HP is billing the unit as an entertainment notebook, which means that the Altec Lansing speakers, the DVD-playing software, and enhanced music-play features are a compliment to the raw computing power this model delivers. As tested, my unit featured a 2 Gigaherz AMD Turion64 x2 processor, and 2 Gigabytes of RAM, atop a 150 Gigabyte hard disc drive and alongside a DVD-RW optical drive, which can be removed to save weight. The display is 12.1 inches in diameter, but features the widescreen layout conducive to watching DVD movies and working with the included Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium operating system.


Other useful components are a built-in Web camera and microphone, useful for online chats, Bluetooth and 802.11n connections, and a fingerprint reader, of which more in a moment. Oh, and the screen can pivot to make this a Tablet PC, which I'll also get back to shortly. Altogether, the configuration I tested was closer to $1,999 in price than $1,300.


As is, the computer weighs about 4.5 pounds walking around, noticeably lighter than some portables and certainly not burdensome in my briefcase. It may not be the thinnest and lightest computer I've used, but it's rather close.


The Tablet PC feature is nice, and worth having, I believe. In Tablet mode, a stylus usually replaces the keyboard and mouse for input; here, you could also use a fingernail or the soft end of a pencil, perhaps. Having alternative means of input beyond the stylus is good, in case the latter is ever lost or misplaced. Tablet-friendly applications such as FranklinCovey's PlanPlus for Windows work quite nicely on this unit.


So do regular Windows applications such as Microsoft Office or OpenOffice.org's Writer word processor, as well as Web browsers such as Internet Explorer 7 and Mozilla Firefox. The horsepower of this computer, as tested, comes in quite handy, I believe. My only gripe with this computer's configuration is with the hard disk drive; I wish it were larger. I also wish the right-side keyboard shift key were larger; my finger kept hitting the up arrow key, something a tad annoying.


I'm also a bit baffled by the fingerprint scanner, which is designed to work with included software that supposedly stores all your online passwords and logs you into secure Websites such as online banking and the like. In practice, I couldn't get the thing to work properly. My advice: avoid it. In fact, if I were hanging on to this machine, I'd junk the fingerprint program, if at all possible.


One very pleasant surprise is the built-in mouse pad, a dimpled bit of the computer's case which is very functional, and very accurate in terms of tracking. I've not seen this kind of implementation before, and it's not only cute, but it also works.


Overall, the HP Pavilion tx 1000 is a great little computer, a good on-the-go accomplice. Having Windows Vista as the operating system seems nice; in almost a week of heavy use, I didn't notice any great problems. If I were buying a portable, I'd give this serious consideration. Details online at www.hp.com.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Mark Kellner has reported on technology for industry newspapers and magazines since 1983, and has been the computer columnist for The Washington Times since 1991.Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2007, News World Communications, Inc. Reprinted with permission of The Washington Times. Visit the paper at http://www.washingtontimes.com

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles