Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 23, 2007 / 3 Nissan, 5767

A car with no name is just a ride

By Lori Borgman

Lori Borgman
Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The kid who has insisted on naming our cars for years, the same kid we told to cool it for years, has been vindicated. According to an Associated Press AOL poll, 20 percent of all drivers give nicknames to their cars.


Whoa, Betsy! Actually, Betsy is the No. 1 nickname, followed by Nelly, Blue and Baby. We may have named a few of our vehicles, but they were names like, "Money Pit," and "Rust Bucket," which were nowhere on the list. The kid who names cars tends to select monikers with considerably more affection. When the green minivan developed a short in the electrical system that caused the interior lights to randomly flash and automatic doors to lock and unlock, she named the vehicle Shirley. It was hard to be dislike a vehicle named Shirley. The 1993 Ford F150 pickup with the five-speed stick shift, custom speakers and deafening muffler she named Henry. It was a good fit.


The maroon minivan with extended back became Spencer. Her grandpa's Expedition has been dubbed Eddie and the used Toyota Avalon that came into her possession a year ago, purrs to the name Ava. Despite efforts to resist falling into her trap, we have occasionally heard ourselves saying inane things like, "Does Henry have gas?" Or, "Who's in the garage, Ava or Spencer?" The poll also found that three in 10 drivers think their cars have gender.


"How do you know if a car is a girl or a boy?" I ask our car-naming expert.


"Oh, you can tell by looking," she chirps.


"And where does one look?" I ask. "Under the hood?"


"No, you can tell by looking at the car's build. Spencer (the maroon minivan) is obviously a boy. Big, husky, good storage and has a firm idea of where he is going." She explains this to me speaking very slowly, as though someone who has to ask how you tell a girl car from a boy car is a couple quarts low.


"Obviously," I say.


"You can tell Ava is a girl by the fact that she is dainty and has a soft cream color. Plus, you can't take Ava over the speed bumps the way you could Henry. Henry could take the speed bumps in second or third without a ripple, but Ava is delicate. You have to slow way down."


I was with her in the car recently when someone gave us the international road signal. I looked over to see her response and she calmly said, "Just ignore them Ava."


"Ava has no idea what just happened," I said.


"Yes, she does, she's very sensitive," she said, patting Ava on the dashboard.


Colormatters.com may not agree that cars have personalities, but they do contend that a car's color tells about the personalities of the people who drive them. Black reflects an aggressive personality and is the color car most likely to be in an accident. Silver means someone is cool, calm and slightly aloof. Green indicates hysterical tendencies. Yellow reflects idealism, and white is for status-seeking extroverts. Cream is self-contained, controlled and least likely to be in an accident. I was driving the self-contained and controlled cream-colored Ava the other day and forgot to take the speed bump slow. Like Ava knows I took the speed bump a little too fast, I chuckled to myself.


By the time I reached the stop sign, the seat warmer had turned itself off.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Lori Borgman is the author of , most recently, "Pass the Faith, Please" (Click HERE to purchase. Sales help fund JWR.) and I Was a Better Mother Before I Had Kids To comment, please click here. To visit her website click here.

ARCHIVES

© 2007, Lori Borgman

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles