Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 9, 2007 / 19 Adar, 5767

The well-dressed bed

By Lori Borgman

Lori Borgman
Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | As a mother, I have had occasion to dress chickens, salads, children and a husband — "No, not that tie, that tie!" And now I am learning to dress the bed.


Dressing the bed is a phenomenon touted by the home fashion mavens. One no longer simply makes a bed, dah-ling, one dresses a bed.


Dressing a bed is sure to excite the male population almost as much as those tiny fingertip towels and decorator soaps shaped like seashells in the bathroom. ("Just look; don't touch!")


The key to the well-dressed bed is layers. Dressing a bed requires thin layers, thick layers, functional layers and ornamental layers.


Once you have your many layers in place, you pull up the sheet, the blanket, the comforter nestled in the duvet cover; then firmly grasp all layers and carefully flip them back a quarter turn.


You then place the bed pillows against the headboard, the European shams in front of the bed pillows, the standard shams in front of the European shams, the bolster pillow in front of the standard shams and decorative pillows and scatter pillows in front of those. Then, neatly fold a coverlet, lay it across the foot of the bed, and it will be time for lunch.


I have seen beds in all manners of dress.


Informal dress happens when the husband makes the bed. Everything is in roughly the right place, but the sheet dangles beneath the comforter and small ripples snake down the middle of the bed like tributaries shooting off the Mississippi River.


Our son's style of dressing his bed would be classified as casual Friday. It was disheveled, rumpled and looked like he was still in it.


Our oldest daughter has always maintained a formally-dressed bed. Someone once commented you could bounce a quarter off her bed and suggested Uncle Sam could use her to train the military. We agreed, but 3 years of age seemed rather young to leave home.


Today, living on her own, she dresses her bed with layers and layers, contrasting textures, and complimentary colors, all perfectly folded and plumped and fluffed.

Whenever I am at her place I like to slip a tennis shoe or a hairbrush between a few of the layers just to keep things real.


I was a guest at a very swanky hotel recently and when I opened the door to my room, I laid eyes on the best-dressed bed I had ever seen.


If Goldilocks had been in a bed like this, that Three Bears story would have had a very different, and probably somewhat violent, ending.


The bed was a virtual cloud. I could have thrown all the bedding and pillows out the window, jumped from the 18th floor and been guaranteed a soft landing.

  • At 11 p.m., I slipped into the virtual cloud and prepared to float to dreamland.

  • At 11:20 p.m., I tossed off the goose-down comforter.

  • At 11:40 p.m., I kicked off the second sheet.

  • At 11:55 p.m., I threw aside a second comforter.

  • At 12:30 a.m., I knocked six pillows and three shams to the floor.

  • At 1:05 am., I awoke from a nightmare about an anaconda squeezing me to death. The duvet and the top sheet were wrapped in a figure-eight around my legs and a coverlet was coiled around my neck.

  • At 1:06 I realized it was a slippery slope from the luxury of a well-dressed bed to the torment of an over-dressed bed. I hoped all the home fashion mavens were having a restless night, too.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Lori Borgman is the author of , most recently, "Pass the Faith, Please" (Click HERE to purchase. Sales help fund JWR.) and I Was a Better Mother Before I Had Kids To comment, please click here. To visit her website click here.

ARCHIVES

© 2007, Lori Borgman

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles