Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 5, 2007 / 15 Adar, 5767

Training day

By Mitch Albom


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | There was a dog show in Detroit this weekend and 60,000 people were projected to attend, and 3,000 dogs, and 163 breeds, and we won't even count the plastic bags and scoopers.


And at some point in the show, as thousands of spectators cheer, the prized pooches will walk alongside their owners, in lockstep, in gentle canter, paws bouncing as if on marshmallows, coats groomed, heads erect, spines straight.


It reminds me of the day I trained my dog.


In the driveway.


I had paid a trainer to come and work with my pup, a beautiful golden retriever whom I called Elvis, because, in the end, he wasn't nothing but a hound dog, even if I did pay the trainer 50 bucks an hour.


Personally, I thought, for that kind of cash, trainer and dog go out behind the house, and when they return the dog not only fetches the remote control and never again goes poo-poo on the carpet, it also speaks French.


Au contraire, my terrier.


As it turns out, the trainer trains YOU. Trains you to talk. Trains you to tug the leash. Trains you to make certain sounds with your voice (including, and I swear this is true, mimicking the low, guttural growl mother dogs make when puppies nurse too hard. This apparently is the only "no" a dog ever pays attention to, figuring that, if it doesn't, Mama Dog may sell Baby Dog to a kennel. Of course, the dog winds up sold anyhow, thereby shattering its faith in humanity and creating the facial expression dogs display when you coo, "Here, boy! Here, boy!" and the dog's eyes narrow as if to say, "Right, fatso. Who you calling boy?"). But I digress.


The point is, here I was, alone, with Elvis, in our driveway. Well. My driveway. His name wasn't on the mortgage.


And I told him "sit."


And he sat.


And as I stepped back, I said "stay."


And he got up.


And he ran to me.


And I gave him a biscuit.


OK, I wasn't supposed to do that. But I liked the fact that he ran to ME and not, say, the neighbors' garbage can. So I slipped him a biscuit. Big deal. Shoot me.


Now, as the day progressed, we got better and better. Elvis would sit, and I would say "stay," and I'd backpedal three steps, four steps, eight steps. Eventually, Elvis gave a look like, "Whoa, if he gets any farther away, he might find another dog for those biscuits!" and he jumped up and ran to me.


But eventually, after several hours - and I remember this, because the same neighbors drove down the street and later up the street, staring at me as if I were crazy - I was standing several houses away, and Elvis was STAYING PUT! Amazing. This training stuff worked. I had visions of one day entering my pooch in a dog show, too. He would be known as "the dog who stays." Champion class.


However, as I daydreamed, I realized I had moved so far down the block that now I was screaming "STAY!" just so Elvis could hear me. And he had grown so small in my vision that I really couldn't tell if he heard me or not.


And then I saw him lie down.


And he yawned .


And I realized, if he's bored, then who am I kidding? Let's just reward him with a biscuit and call it a day. And I yelled, "HERE, BOY!"


And he didn't move.


I think he was asleep.


Anyhow, from that day forward, I considered Elvis trained. From time to time, I would make that growling noise the trainer taught me, and Elvis would look at me as if to say, "Mom?"


But he stopped pooping. And he stayed, pretty much, when he had to, and that was good enough for me.


Elvis died a few years ago. I have yet to replace him. Too sad. But if you go to the dog show this weekend, and you see those well-groomed, erect-spined, best-of-breed models trotting around and speaking French, just know that, for one afternoon, that same thrill was experienced in a driveway in a Detroit suburb. And no tickets were required.


Just biscuits.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

MITCH'S LATEST
"For One More Day"  

"For One More Day" is the story of a mother and a son, and a relationship that covers a lifetime and beyond. It explores the question: What would you do if you could spend one more day with a lost loved one? Sales help fund JWR.



Comment on Mitch's column by clicking here.



Mitch's Archives


© 2007, THE DETROIT FREE PRESS DISTRIBUTED BY TMS, INC.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles