Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 3, 2006 / 3 Adar, 5766

Escaping oil: try everything

By Dick Morris


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Our dependence on foreign oil now hurts more than ever. It's far harder to to stop Tehran from getting the bomb when we need Iran's oil. Venezuelan President Hugo Chavez, meanwhile, is using our oil money to turn a continent against us. And, of course, oil money funds terrorism, too.


The problem's not news — nor are the proposed solutions. The left has long supported alternative fuel sources, conservation, non-polluting natural gas and ethanol fuels — while the right has backed nuclear power, off-shore and Alaskan oil drilling and greater use of coal.


And each side blocked the other's answers.


In a gentler time, it was normal for each polarized camp to reject the solutions of the other. But the stakes have risen to a point where the goal, energy independence, must outweigh these vetos — on both sides. We must say "yes" to any step that can help us rid ourselves of this debilitating dependence on our worst enemies.


Each side in this ideological war needs to put down its weapons and embrace its own solutions and those offered by the other side. The partisan division over solutions to energy also ignores how technology has advanced since the battle lines were drawn.


Nuclear power is a great example. In the 1970s, we were sold a bill of goods by movies like "The China Syndrome," brought to us by Jane Fonda, that atomic energy was unsafe. Reinforced by Chernobyl in the Soviet Union and the far less destructive Three Mile Island mishap in Pennsylvania, we sharply reined in nuclear energy.


Meanwhile, France plunged ahead with it: Half of that nation's electricity comes from nuclear power plants — without incident or danger. We need to restart the nuclear program.


The right, for its part, has got to stop writing off wind and solar power as silly, and embrace their full use. We should massively and rapidly expand our production of ethanol- and alcohol-based fuels; the auto industry needs to rev up production of the e-85 cars that use these fuels, and only fill their tanks to 15 percent with gasoline.


Two million cars now on the road — largely in the Midwest — run on E-85 fuel. With more such vehicles, and greater fuel-production capacity, a massive conversion can occur.


The left, meanwhile, has got to make its peace with coal. New techniques for capturing carbon dioxide and burying it in the ground so as not to exacerbate climate change have overtaken the political opposition to coal.


And then we come to hydrogen, the ultimate replacement for a carbon-based fuels. In California, Gov. Arnold Schwarznegger has converted 25 gas stations to carry hydrogen and will add another 30 by year's end. The hydrogen wll be available on every part of California's interstate system.


The energy required to make hydrogen fuel is dropping with new technology; and it may even be possible to extract hydrogen as part of the processing of agricultural waste and by using landfill gases.


And finally, yes, we do need to drill in the Arctic and off shore. I had long opposed this. But one look at how Iran uses its oil to paralyze our anti-proliferation efforts, or at how Venezuela's Chavez uses his oil and our money to foment anti-U.S. sentiment in Latin America, convinces me that we need to drill where we can. The Bush administration has, thankfully, released 2 million acres for off-shore oil drilling, with no site closer than one hundred miles to Florida beaches.


It is only by a mosaic of steps, some liberal and some conservative that we can end America's oil addiction. Mayor Fiorello La Guardia famously said, "There is no Democratic or Republican way to clean the streets." Let's apply thatthinking to energy independence.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



JWR contributor Dick Morris is author, most recently, of "Because He Could". (Click HERE to purchase. Sales help fund JWR.) Comment by clicking here.



Dick Morris Archives


© 2006, Dick Morris

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles