Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 24, 2006 / 24 Adar, 5766

The Dude Culture

By Marianne M. Jennings

Marianne M. Jennings
Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The cover of Sports Illustrated featured a mid-air snowboarder, locks a-flyin', in a tip of the helmet to androgyny. The caption? "American Men and Women Rule the Halfpipe." Dude! Shaun White and Hannah Teeter, the male and female snowboarder Olympic Gold Medalists, have found second careers following their stint as the Hanson musical group. Ten bucks and Janet Jones Gretzky's sports book acumen say the snow skateboarders can't add the judges' scores without a calculator (them's three digits with decimals) or name the century during which the Revolutionary War was fought, but they have bested the world on freefalling.


I adjusted to the drooping pants, the Slinky string bracelets, and the Prince-Valiant-with-curls-hairstyles that wandered amongst us because historical and generational precedent assured: This too shall pass. But, nay, the skateboards, Bill and Ted, and the iPodded ears hover still. They have left their imprimatur. We have become the Dude Culture.


Time magazine has twice run multi-page spreads on dude geniuses. Somehow I cannot equate Time's wunderkind, who begins his insight, "I know a guy . . . ," with Socrates (that's Sew-crates, two syllables, in dudese). A recent Time exposť featured the top four thinkers in the country. Mark Cuban, thinker/owner of the Dallas Mavericks and co-founder of Broadcast.com and HDNet was one of them and weighed in, "In the past, you had to memorize knowledge because there was a cost to finding it. Now, what can't you find in 30 seconds or less? We live an open-book-test life that requires a completely different skill set." Dudes worry me because they don't know what came before them or even that we survived without them! Yes, anyone can look up "Mephistopheles" on the Internet in 30 seconds, but it might take cracking a book or two to understand Faustus. Another ten bucks says they don't know either one and are hoping Google's "Did you mean _______?" will correct their spelling when they plug them in for a search.


Mr. Cuban is right about one thing. The Dude Culture is the 30-second culture - their attention span is the length of an MTV video camera shot. This attention span deficit disorder (ASDA) has pummeled their work ethic. My children's pediatricians bemoaned the process of taking on new docs for their expanding 15-year-plus-practice, "They don't want to pay their dues. They want the flex hours, the short hours, the no-on-call-weekends, and they want it all with partnership status and all within the first year." Chill, Dr. Dudes!


The e-mail exchange of Dianna Abdala with lawyer Will Korman on his job offer is now legendary. Following two interviews, his ordering her stationery, and her agreeing on a start date, she sent him an e-mail. To her, his job offer "would neither fulfill me nor support the lifestyle I am living." At age 24, while in school, she has a lifestyle? When Mr. Korman called the dudette "immature and unprofessional," she shot back, hurling infinite wisdom at him, "A real lawyer would have put the contract in writing and not exercised any such reliance until he did so." He then asked, "Do you really want to start [annoying] more experienced lawyers at this early stage of your career?" The half-piped half-wit shot back, "bla, bla, bla." A quick Internet dictionary search would have yielded, "Did you mean 'blah?'" When a Wall Street Journal Reporter asked Ms. Abdala whether she was worried about her bad rep in the legal community she said, "I'm more worried about whether I left my hair iron on than this little email exchange." Dude, life is too short and hair too important for deference.


Swishing through the Internet faster than speeding bullets has emboldened the dudes around their elders. Students who have not yet met me drop me e-mails that begin, "Marianne." I count my blessings. First-name beats "Whassup?"


Perhaps, though, they cannot spell "Jennings." The dudes in the service industry choose "G" as the beginning letter for my name. Most drop the second "g." Therefore, my dude name, to which I now respond quite readily, is "Gennins." I fear that if they plugged William Jennings Bryan or even Peter Jennings into Google they would get, "Did you mean William Gennins Bryan?"


Once I navigate past these casual greetings from my new best friends, the content proves worse. I have e-mails that detail everything from stomach flu and temperatures to confessions of smoking half-pipes (or so) over the weekend. One student detailed the timing intervals for her IBS. Propriety goes with dudes as oil goes with water. Blend in their intense self-focus and, well, they blog away at you. Cursed high school teachers! You who insisted on molding journal-writing narcissists. Their journals are Ben Stiller, Vince Vaughn, and/or Wilson brothers movie - the central plot involves bodily functions and impairment.


Dudes want executive status and perks, but they're not quite ready to stop binge drinking. They want deals and contracts, but don't want the boredom of customer service. They want gold medals, but not with the structure and rigor of figure skating or the team work of hockey. They want credibility, but their sweater sleeves hang down over their hands. They assure us that they are professionals, but the spider web tattoos on their elbows belie that. They want face-to-face contact but their piercings are blinding. I worry that they will be sucked in when they walk by MRI departments.


But I worry more that they have been sucked into a "The world has changed" mentality that finds them believing that knowledge, spelling, graciousness, and hard work no longer matter. Temporarily, it seems, they are right. The dude culture is in full swing, and they have swooshed their way to the Olympics, medals, fame, and fortune. Google is king of the business world. For now. But the dude culture is a disorderly one with few rules, no judgments, and a laid-back notion that all will be well. History does teach us differently. Plug "Roman Empire, Fall" into Google and read up, for at least 30 seconds.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Marianne M. Jennings is a professor of legal and ethical studies at Arizona State University. Send your comments by clicking here.

Marianne M. Jennings Archives

© 2006, Marianne M. Jennings

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles