Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March XX , 2004 /XX Adar, 5764

You can travel a long distance in 48 hours. Even on the Sabbath!

By Robert E. Goodman

Printer Friendly Version

Email this article


http://www.jewishworldreview.com | How? By experiencing Sabbath as it is meant to be experienced.


I experienced an extraordinary shabbaton (Sabbath-centered retreat) with Partners in Torah. I saw new places and things, met with very pious men, and experienced the holiness and spiritual side of Sabbath in its many facets.


We were a diverse group of men and women — some of whom are recent baalei teshuvah and some moving along on this spiritual path. Some of us were members in Partners in Torah, some came at the recommendation of JewishWorldReview.com, others were affiliated with Aish HaTorah, and a few individuals just wanted to experience the beauty of Sabbath. A few of us came from the Maryland and Virginia area, others from the New York area, and a large group of men and women and their families came from Toronto, Canada. There was even a participant from Charlotte, North Carolina. We had the remarkable pleasure of meeting with several great Chassidic Rebbes. We prayed, learned, danced, and sang.


The Orthodox Jewish communities of Flatbush and Borough Park overflowed with courtesy and generosity of heart, hearth, time, mind, and spirit. Wherever I went and whomever I spent time with, I was made to feel extremely comfortable and welcomed. My Judaism and growing observance were cultivated in many ways.


Donate to JWR

Strolling to Ari's Judaica to buy a new book and Havdalah candle and then later on along 13th Avenue, I saw the hurried world of Borough Park preparing for Sabbath beginning in a few hours. Ari's Judaica is a wonderful bookstore that supports Partners In Torah. It is staffed by knowledgeable men with the patience and sensitivity to answer the many questions of the baal teshuvah or yeshiva bachur. Each time that I meet with Ari, I am always greeted with a welcoming smile and given kind advice that helps me find the right book to further my Jewish understanding.


Experiencing the Chareidim Matzah Bakery was like spending time in a well-oiled matzah making machine. Every 18 minutes I had the chance to watch talented and expert matzah making men and women proceed though each intensely physical step with literally clockwork precision, because it was precisely clockwork that determined the holiness of each delectable handmade shmurah matzah. I made sure to buy some matzah for my own Passover table. It will bring special memories to my seder.


But the absolute best moments of the shabbaton were when I had the pleasure to meet with the many kind rabbis who offered up their time to educate us about the different parts of Judaism. Rabbi Shrage Hager, the Kosover Rebbe, offered words of inspiration to greet us and guide us as we began our shabbaton adventure. At the "Oneg Shabbat", food, wine, and whiskey were lovingly passed around by Rabbi Mordechai Twerski, the Hornesteipler Rebbe. Rabbi Twerski's tish along with Alan Proctor's speech explained how fortunate we all are as Jews to be Jewish, to be able to study Torah, and to love being Jewish. Rabbi Twerski gave me and each man who spoke with him a big hug and enthusiastic words of encouragement to help us move along our spiritual paths.


Rabbi Benzion Bamberger, Rabbi of the Bais Medrash of Flatbush, spoke of the intertwined nature of the Joy of Purim and the Joy of Life on Sabbath afternoon. Special mention must be given to Rabbi Pinchos Breuer, Rabbi of Agudath Israel, Bais Binyomin, who had generously opened up his home to me to share a beautiful Sabbath lunch with his rebbetzin and their children.


I greatly enjoyed our walk around the Flatbush neighborhood where I learned more about Rabbi Breuer and his family and they about me. Many thanks also go to Rebbetzin Breuer for our time together and for our visit to the Seigel family. Rebbetzin Breuer is indeed a very kind woman and anyone in need of a shidduch (a matrimonial match) must meet with Rebbetzin Seigel. Her front door is literally always open. Rabbi Breuer gave a thought provoking drasha (public discource) at the Seuda Shlishis, third Sabbath meal. Rabbi Shmuel Dishon, the Director of Yad Avrohom, concluded the Sabbath with a stirring speech that led the way for a joyous Melava Malka filled with mirth, music, and dancing.


On Sunday morning our group met briefly with HaRav Ahron Schechter, the Rosh HaYeshiva of Yeshiva Chaim Berlin, who discussed how the words "Partners in Torah" is so true and self-fulfilling by closely examining how the two terms "partners" and "Torah" interrelate.


Finally, our group met with and received blessings from HaRav Yisroel Mordechai Twerski, the Rachmastrivka Rebbe. This became one of the most memorable moments of the entire shabbaton, but it took a great deal of introspection to realize it.


My experience of being blessed by the Rachmastrivka Rebbe was like nothing I had ever experienced. I have never met personally with a man of his quiet pious magnitude, a man who lived such an austere life, nor had I ever asked for someone's blessings before. It bordered on being a surreal experience.


The other men and I lined up to talk with the Rebbe's gabbi (assistant). At first my mind was a blank. I didn't know what to say or to ask for. As many readers already know, Pirkei Avos says that the wealthy person is the one who is content with what he/she has. Perhaps it was (false) modesty on my part, but I went in to meet him with the thought of not needing or wanting anything in my life for myself. Then I thought about my father and his ill health and asked the Rebbe for a refuah shlemah, to pray for him to become well. Being still single, it was suggested that I ask for a shidduch, which I did. The Rebbe blessed me for these things and also with success in my career and money to earn and donate generously. Then I left the Rebbe's presence. The door shut behind me as I walked out of the library and all of a sudden I felt like I had missed the whole point for being with this man.


As I slowly walked downstairs and outside to chat with a few men that I had met over the course of the weekend, I felt a nagging feeling inside me. The other men were chatting about their own remarkable experiences meeting with the Rebbe and of the entire shabbaton.


"But where was my remarkable experience?", I thought to myself. I immediately turned on my heels, and ran back up the stairs of this tiny little home to ask if I could see the Rebbe again. I patiently and nervously waited as all the remaining men and women had their special private moments with the Rebbe to ask him for their needed blessings. What I had asked the Rebbe for was itself important and eye opening. But even more vitally important than what I asked for was realizing that these were the things that I really needed to ask of the Rebbe. In particular, I asked the Rebbe to bless me so that my heart be opened to the ways of Torah as is mentioned in the last paragraphs of the central Shemoneh Esrei prayer. This second time with the Rachmastrivka Rebbe was for me the most valuable experience of the entire shabbaton weekend.


A final note with many thanks must go to Benjie and Esti Epstein and their children for opening their lovely home to me for the shabbaton, to Bruce Listhaus, my partner in Torah for the last 2 3/4 years, for matching me up with Benjie (one of his best friends and chavrusahs (study partners) on this special occasion, to Yidel & Lauren Eisenberger for a scrumptious Shabbat dinner, to Yejudah Lowinger for the translating, lift, lunch, and a great talk, and to my ever growing circle of friends and fellow daveners at Agudath Israel, Bais Binyomin.

Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Robert E. Goodman resides in College Park, Md. Comment by clicking here.

© 2004, Robert E. Goodman