Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb 24, 2014 / 24 Adar I, 5774

Why We Can't Have Another Shirley Temple

By Lenore Skenazy




JewishWorldReview.com | It's lucky Shirley Temple, who died last week, came along when she did. The dimpled darling of the Depression not only spread sunshine throughout the 1930s but also simply could not have had her career today. Too many perverts!

By that, I mean us.

Most of us can no longer watch a movie starring a little girl surrounded by a lot of adult men — even singing ones — without feeling queasy. Our thoughts have been perverted. We've been trained to see child-adult interactions through the lens of lechery. It's tragic.

Oh, don't get me wrong! It's not tragic that the topic of child abuse is no longer taboo. It's actually great that adults talk about it now and that kids are taught about it. I taught my own sons pretty early to "recognize, resist and report" abuse — instructions they were later given again, at Boy Scouts. (And if you have just refrained from making a mental Boy Scout joke, you deserve some sort of badge.) No, what's tragic is that in our eagerness to protect children from evil, we have started seeing it everywhere — even where it isn't.

Consider this post on the popular parenting site Babble. A father wanted to go into the fitting room with his son to help him try on clothes. The store refused to let him in, whereupon he texted his wife, "So now when a dad is helpful and engaged with his kids he's pegged a pervert? Isn't that discrimination?"

The answers would appear to be yes and yes.



Or how about this lamentation by a dad in The Daily Telegraph? He'd been happily watching his son on the playground when he realized "a group of women had become suspicious" of his presence. "One of them, quite assertively," he said, "walked over. 'Are you here with one of the children?' she asked. The look on her face suggested this was not small talk."

It wasn't. She was suspicious of any man watching kids play. In New York City, that dread runs so deep no adults are allowed on public playgrounds without a child. (As a friend of mine pointed out, that just means predators have to grab one even before they go to the park.)

In an earlier era, kids weren't immediately seen as prey, and adults weren't automatically pervs till proven otherwise. My 93-year-old neighbor remembers going to Shirley Temple movies with her parents. Somehow, watching a curly-haired kid was fun for the whole family — even adults. It wasn't a crime to delight in kids, which is why it wasn't weird that even the adults in the movie were charmed by the girl.

But "to a 21st-century viewer, those movies look, in some cases, downright creepy," says Robert Thompson, a professor of pop culture at Syracuse University. In the intervening 80 years, we've gone from Shirley Temple to "Toddlers & Tiaras," with a very long stop at the murder of child beauty pageant queen JonBenet Ramsey.

If we erred on the side of innocence in the '30s, we are erring on the side of paranoia now. "We've lost something," says Dwight DeWerth-Pallmeyer, associate professor of communication studies at Widener University. "I can't even envision how you would tell a story like 'The Good Ship Lollipop' today"; that was Temple's theme song in "Bright Eyes," the happy story of a plucky orphan cheering up a bunch of gruff men.

Today the kid would need a social worker, a chaperon, a shrink — and, of course, a healthy alternative to all those lollipops.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Lenore Skenazy Archives

© 2014, Creators Syndicate.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast