Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Foodie-ism, meet Judaism

By Andrew Silow-Carroll




A delicious academic food-fight



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I enjoy the food writer Michael Pollan because he makes me feel smarter about the things I buy and eat — smarter in the sense that he convinces me to make healthier, more sensible choices, and smarter in the sense that I actually learn something about the chemistry, economics, and history of the stuff that keeps me alive. Because I keep kosher I won't eat the pork barbecue sandwich that Pollan describes in rich culinary and anthropological detail in his latest book, Cooked, but I still feel wiser having learned about the layers of myth, science, culture, and tradition found in a cuisine enjoyed by, I don't know, almost everyone who isn't an observant Jew, strict Muslim, vegetarian, or comatose.

Pollan, who is Jewish, obviously does not keep kosher, although in a long section on hogs and cooking rituals, he can't avoid including some of his own perspectives on what he calls "the kashrut." These are mostly inoffensive acknowledgements of the traditional taboo, unlike the cheeky celebrations of "treyf" (non-kosher food) that some other Jewish foodies like to indulge in.

So I braced myself before reading a long response to Pollan by Jewish studies professor Jonathan Schorsch called "Pigging Out: What 'Radically Unkosher' Jewish Foodies Like Michael Pollan Are Missing." I assumed I was about to read a scolding piece aimed at assimilated Jews who have turned their backs on their religion, or a manifesto on the nutritional and spiritual genius of the Jewish food laws.

As it turns out, Schorsch's essay in Religion Dispatches magazine is something else entirely — a sharply argued essay that critiques Pollan on his own terms. Schorsch doesn't much care whether Pollan does or doesn't keep kosher, but he does lament that Pollan doesn't extend the same curiosity or respect to Jewish foodways that he does to the other eating cultures — from Southern barbecue to French cheese-making — that he explores so deeply in Cooked.

It helps to know that Pollan is one of our most articulate critics of an industrial food complex that he says is "systematically and deliberately undermining traditional food cultures everywhere." Pollan urges his readers to be more mindful of the things they eat, more respectful of the environment in which they are produced, and more willing to embrace the lost social rituals that were attached to the kitchen and dinner table.

If that sounds a little like, well, "the kashrut," that's Schorsch's point.


FREE SUBSCRIPTION TO INFLUENTIAL NEWSLETTER

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". HUNDREDS of columnists and cartoonists regularly appear. Sign up for the daily update. It's free. Just click here.


For example, in his barbecue section, Pollan writes that the kosher laws are "probably designed more to enforce group identity than to protect health." Which is true to some extent, but, Schorsch convincingly argues, incredibly reductive of a long and rich tradition of rabbinic thinking about what we kill, cook, and eat. Schorsch acknowledges that many (although not all) scholars agree that some of the kosher laws have no "rational" explanation (like being healthier, for instance). Nonetheless, the Jewish understanding of what is proper and improper to eat is much more sophisticated than, to quote a famous Weequahic, New Jersey High School cheer, "Ikey, Mikey, Jake, and Sam / We're the boys who eat no ham."

"A more generous reading [than Pollan's] would see that the pastoral, agricultural Israelites sacralized their natural environment and the limited set of mostly domesticated animals on which they depended," writes Schorsch. By excluding predators from the Jewish diet, for example, kashrut reflected the Jews' "idealized self-image: familiar, docile, well-ordered."

In other words, the Israelites would have agreed, to quote the title of a book by Margaret Visser much revered in foodie circles, "Much Depends on Dinner." Adds Schorsch: "Kashrut comes within a dense, rich, long-standing culture promoting, ideally, upright, prudent, modest living, including reverence for and balanced coexistence with the natural world."



I think Schorsch may be a little hard on Pollan, who in writing about food is under no obligation to either defend or fully explain the cuisine of his own ancestors. But I understand Schorsch's frustration at those foodies who, while enamored with the "rituals" of food preparation and eating, are skeptical about anything that smacks of religion in the supernatural, non-materialist sense. I get why people think it is ornery to eschew so much of nature's bounty according to an obscure legal code. But I have a harder time with those who can't be bothered to understand what a Jew, or any religious person, gets out of a diet based on mindful distinctions. It reminds me of what Leon Wieseltier once said about Jews who lacked curiosity about their own tradition: "Most American Jews are not renegades; they are slackers."

Schorsch provides a pithy defense of Jewish eating, which "insists that we express thanks for all foods consumed; eat while sitting; turn meals with other people into more than just individual ingesting (by talking Torah)," and that we "tithe all agricultural produce, directing a portion of it to the poor." All he is asking is that foodies show more curiosity about the individual cultures, like Judaism, that actually share their goals.

Pollan strikes me as the sort of writer who might see Schorsch's thoughtful essay as a challenge, not a rebuke. Perhaps Schorsch has just gifted Pollan with an idea for his next book: Our Daily Bread: Food, Faith, and the Ways We Eat.

Comment by clicking here.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.




Andrew Silow-Carroll is the editor in chief of the New Jersey Jewish News, where this article first appeared.

© 2014, Andrew Silow-Carroll

Quantcast