Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Ask Mr. Know-It-All

By Gary Lee Clothier




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Q: When I was in grammar school (many years ago), we often sang from a songbook. One song I remember was "Reuben and Rachel." The first verse was sung by girls and went: "Reuben, I have long been thinking, what a good world this might be/ If the men were all transported far beyond the Northern Sea."

The boys sang the second verse, but I don't recall the words. Can you tell me how it went? -- J.C., Bechtelsville, Pa.

A: The boys sang in response: "Rachel, I have long been thinking, what a fine world this might be/ If we had some more young ladies on this side the Northern Sea."

The song was written by Harry Birch (words) and William Gooch (melody), and it was published in Boston in 1871.

Q: If weather conditions are right, snow can evaporate without becoming a liquid. What is this process called? --S.D., Cortland, N.Y.

A: Sublimation is the process of a solid changing directly into a gas without passing through the liquid state.

Q: I saw a picture of a good-looking pickup truck that had a handwritten, stick-on label with the name The Great Wingle. Well, I think that was the name. Is this enough for you to figure out what brand of truck this was? -- K.L.U., Webster City, Iowa

A: The Great Wall Wingle is a Chinese-built compact pickup truck that has been built and marketed by Great Wall Motors since 2006. It's also available in Australia and Europe, but not in the U.S.

Q: What is a trouser suit? I have an idea, but I'll let you tell me. -- G.K., Sedona, Ariz.

A: A trouser suit is a suit consisting of trousers and a matching or coordinating coat or jacket worn by women, mostly in Britain. In the United States, a trouser suit is known as a pantsuit, but I have a feeling you knew that already.

Q: Omar N. Bradley, a five-star general of the United States Army, passed away in 1981. He lived and worked at Fort Bliss, Texas. Bliss is an unusual name for a military base. Was the Army attempting a bit of trickery in trying to recruit soldiers? -- A.B., Jackson, Mich.

A: No, not at all. On March 8, 1854, the official name of the post located near El Paso, Texas, became Fort Bliss, in memory of Lt. Col. William Wallace Smith Bliss. Bliss was Maj. Gen. (and future president) Zachary Taylor's chief of staff during the Mexican War. Fort Bliss comprises approximately 1.12 million acres of land in Texas and New Mexico.

Q: I have heard several times that James Garner passed away. Is this true? -- R.H., Fort Smith, Ark.

A: As of this writing, Garner is doing well. In May 2008, he suffered a severe stroke and underwent surgery. He was born in 1928 in Norman, Okla.

Q: I remember when I went to the shoe store with my mother and got my first pair of Keds sneakers. I have often wondered what the word "Keds" means and how the term "sneakers" came about. -- M.L., Jupiter, Fla.

A: In 1916, U.S. Rubber introduced the first mass-marketed canvas shoes with rubber soles. When choosing a name, the initial idea was Peds, which is Latin for foot. Someone else held that trademark, so the name Keds was selected. The advertising company coined the term "sneakers" to suggest the quietness of Keds, making them a perfect choice for people wanting to sneak around without getting caught!

=<<


Comment by clicking here.


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Previously:


#27
#26
#25
#24
#23
#22
#21
#20
#19
#18
#17
#16
#15
#14
#13
#12
#11
#10
#9
#8
#7
#6
#5
#4
#3
#2
#1


© 2011, Gary Clothier DISTRIBUTED BY UNIVERSAL UCLICK

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles