Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 18, 2011 / 14 Adar I, 5771

Befuddled by what to get royal couple

By Lori Borgman

Lori Borgman


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I'm finally over the disappointment of not being invited to the royal wedding. What I'm not over is my inability to think of a suitable wedding gift. Should my invitation be lost in the mail and come at the last minute, I'd like to be ready.

Your small kitchen appliances — blender, toaster, electric knife — are obviously too mundane for a prince and princess. Towels are always good, but who knows what their colors are.

One of those K-cup coffee makers would be nice. Then again, Kate and William are probably accustomed to coffee served in a silver service, not puncturing small plastic tubs and tapping their royal toes while the coffee mugs slowly fill.

I thought of checking their bridal registry, but they have not registered at Bed Bath and Beyond, Target or Crate and Barrel. It is rather hard to imagine a soon-to-be princess dashing about with a scanner, her prince in tow, while she excitedly tags spatulas, trivets and appetizer plates.

"Look at this deviled egg platter, Willie. Should we scan it for the registry or see if they have one in Royal Doulton?"

Even harder to imagine is an average Joe such as myself waltzing into a home living store and printing off the official royal registry. "Well, would you look at that? They registered for everyday pottery in that depressing brown just like your niece Shelley."

I would like to see a royal registry just to see if they checked the box at the bottom that says the happy couple will also accept gift cards.

When Prince Charles and Lady Di married, they registered at a specialty shop, but only those approved by Buckingham Palace could view the registry. Word was that they requested garden furniture, a wine cooler, ceramic candlesticks and a pair of breakfast-in-bed trays. All of which was a touch more practical than Cambridge University's gift, a copy of "The Complete English Traveller"; by George Spence, which was first published in 1771. It's always dispiriting when you have to wear a dust mask and gloves before you can enjoy your own wedding gifts.

Personally, I like giving newlyweds matching terry cloth robes monogrammed "Mr." and "Mrs." Of course, that would never work in this case. Their monograms would have to be "P" and "P" for prince and princess, which completely loses the giggle factor of Mr. and Mrs.

"I think you're wearing my robe."

"Are you sure? I thought this was mine."

"No it's mine."

"But it says P."

"Well, you're not the only one with a robe that says P; now hand over my robe."

And then the "P" robe mix-up escalates into their first marital spat and royal unhappiness would be on my commoner head.

Prince Charles and Princess Di also received wedding gifts of an antique toilet mirror, a ton of peat for the garden and two cases of specially blended whiskey. When William's grandparents married, they received 2,500 gifts — including a hand-knitted cardigan, two pairs of bed socks and a tea cozy.

I keep going back to the idea of a pygmy goat for a gift. They probably don't have one, it would be highly entertaining and could keep weeds down around their country home.

I wonder if they'll know who it's from.

"Must be from your side."

"No, your side."


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Lori Borgman is the author of , most recently, "Catching Christmas" (Click HERE to purchase. Sales help fund JWR.) and I Was a Better Mother Before I Had Kids To comment, please click here. To visit her website click here.

ARCHIVES

© 2009, Lori Borgman

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles