Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 11, 2011 / 7 Adar I, 5771

What doesn't freeze you makes you stronger

By Lori Borgman

Lori Borgman


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Sometimes what we really need is a common enemy. Winter has given us one. Dare I say this pummeling from winter has made us all just a little more hospitable, a bit more friendly and a touch more neighborly?

Then again, maybe I'm wrong. Maybe it's just that our mouths have been too frozen to yell and our arms too stiff to gesture. Maybe we're so tired of that burning sensation deep in our lungs and the icicles clinging to our nose hairs, that we're losing our will to live.

When I topped off the gas tank before the big one hit, the station was a mass of cars, each and every one of which had obviously agreed to abide by a system of utter and total chaos. Cars were lined up in both directions, double parked, engines running, exhaust billowing, bumper-to-bumper and nose-to-nose. Sandwiched in at the pump after my tank was full, the driver behind me got out of his car and cheerfully asked if it would help if he backed up?

Of course, it would help if he backed up. But for him to back up, the car behind him would have to back up, and the car behind him would back up. And then it happened, like the Rockettes doing a contagion of high kicks, one car after another backed up without a single blaring horn.

At the hardware store the woman in front of me was buying lamp oil and wicks. The cashier said she had one of those old lamps but didn't know how to use it. The woman patiently gave her a tip or two.

The elderly man who insisted I get in line in front of him was stocking up on candles and batteries. The necessity I was struggling with was a 20-pound bag of birdseed.

The birds have been in a feeding frenzy this winter, storing up for each successive blast of ice and snow. Finches, cardinals and nuthatches bob for seeds, shell them, devour the seed and spit the shells on the ground. They must think I'm running a Texas Roadhouse.

Even the birds have been mellowed by this knockout winter. Juncos are hopping about in the veil of snow that blankets the ice, leaving faint tracks. Maybe I have been snow blinded but it looks as though they've spelled out the words "thank you."

The cold may be piercing but the kindness is contagious.

Our son in Chicago made it to work the day the blizzard hit. He took the train in and waited for snowshoes he ordered, which had a guaranteed delivery by 3 that afternoon. You don't forget this kind of craziness, er character, when it's a balmy 82.

On more than a few of these snowy days, our neighbor to the right with a snow blower has cleared his own driveway, rounded the corner, cleared his sidewalk, crossed our drive and cleared our sidewalk, too.

The husband has gone out to shovel, cleared our drive, seen the cleared path in front of our house, picked up where the neighbor left off, shoveled the next neighbor's walk, rounded the corner, cleared a path up his drive and to his front door.

A neighbor on the west end of the block called to see if we were OK, I called a neighbor to the east, and a neighbor across the street called us. We don't talk this much when it's full sun, blue skies, the grass is green and we're all outside mowing.

Old Man Winter thought he'd do us in, but he only made us stronger.


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Lori Borgman is the author of , most recently, "Catching Christmas" (Click HERE to purchase. Sales help fund JWR.) and I Was a Better Mother Before I Had Kids To comment, please click here. To visit her website click here.

ARCHIVES

© 2009, Lori Borgman

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles