Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 7, 2011 / 3 Adar I, 5771

There's No Business Like Snow Business, Folks!

By Mitch Albom






http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I used to think that there were two kinds of people in the world, those who liked Barry Manilow and those who didn't. But I must expand that. There are also those who freak out over weather and those who don't.

I'm not talking about tsunamis or Category 5 hurricanes. Anyone would freak out over those.

I'm talking about snow and rain, two things we have, somewhere on the planet, on a daily basis.

This past week, to hear the news media hype it, the Blizzard of the Century was upon us. In Detroit, we were warned of "up to 2 feet" -- or at least that's what everyone was saying by the time they turned off their TV's and radios. "Did you hear? Up to 2 feet!"

Those words -- like "fire!" or "food fight!" -- make people spring into action. Supermarkets were suddenly jammed. Shoppers cleared the shelves of water, milk, bread, flare guns. Snowblowers and shovels were snatched up. Airlines preemptively cancelled hundreds of flights. Schools announced closings before a single flake fell. "Up to 2 feet!" became a mantra.

Except that, when all was said and done, it was nowhere near that in Detroit. In certain parts, it was all of 5 inches. And in households throughout our area, you now can hear people grumbling at their children, "Come on, drink more milk."

LIVE VIEWS OF THE SNOWPOCALYPSE
Now, none of this should diminish the hardships people did have with the snow. It did clobber many parts of the nation. Driving was lousy. Air travel was a mess. And whether it's 5 inches or 6 inches or 11 inches -- it's all a lot harder than sunshine and blue skies.

But as I said, you either freak out about weather or you don't. Especially in the North. We've been having snowstorms in these parts, what, forever? We certainly had more than 5 inches plenty of times -- even 11 inches. And you know what? We survived.

So why, today, does every coming storm seem like Armageddon? For this, I must blame -- and I'm sorry if it's a familiar refrain, but if the shoe fits -- television.

Before TV weather became a high-tech video game, all a weathercaster could say was "a snowstorm is on the way." He couldn't show you animated storm systems rolling over your state like Noah's flood. He couldn't show you ominous blobs of blood red and electric blue. He couldn't yank out videos of deathly blizzards or scare you with bracing wind-chill warnings.

He couldn't use Doppler or Weather Cam or whatever gizmo system is the latest to roll out of the weather industry. He couldn't make it sound as if he were the Wizard of Oz and you were just a sniveling Cowardly Lion.

No wonder everyone freaks out. By the time you're done with a TV forecast (and it holds for radio and newspapers as well), you want to dive into a bunker.

Except that, for as long as there have been weather forecasters, there have been wrong weather forecasters. Their accuracy still can be sketchy -- even with all that equipment. Rain doesn't stay as long as predicted. They say sun, but soon it's cloudy. Two feet becomes 5 inches. Five inches becomes 2 feet.

They get it right. They get it wrong.

You can freak out. Or you can roll with it.

THE METEOROLOGICAL FACTS OF LIFE
Personally, I like to see the snow before I start shoveling. Whatever happened to just dealing with a storm after it hit -- not before it arrives? For salt trucks, yes, advance is good. Maybe even for certain flights -- so that a plane doesn't get stuck overnight.

But we always managed to survive before by calling school off in the morning. We always managed to have enough food in cupboards to get us through a snow-in. Are we really in so much more danger now? Or is there just a bigger audience for media -- which means bigger money -- when they blast "WINTER STORM WARNING" all over the place?

There's an old adage of a man ankle-deep in snow, remarking to his neighbor, "I just shoveled 6 inches of 'partly cloudy' out of my driveway." The implication is that predicting the weather is, at best, a risky business.

But today it seems we do a lot more predicting the worst than the best. And if, as you read this, you're on your fourth glass of milk, you probably agree.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Mitch's column by clicking here.



Mitch's Archives


© 2011, THE DETROIT FREE PRESS DISTRIBUTED BY TMS, INC.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles