Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 12, 2010 / 28 Shevat 5770

Windows on a Mac, and then some

By Mark Kellner



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I'm sitting in front of an Apple, Inc., iMac computer, equipped with a 2.66 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo processor and 4 Gbytes of RAM, not to mention Mac OS X Version 10.6.2, also known as "Snow Leopard."


So why am I also running Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium on this machine, not to mention OpenOffice.org's productivity suite? In part, I'm doing this to prove a point, but also to test out Parallels Desktop for Macintosh, an $79.99 program (www.parallels.com) that'll let you run Windows, various strains of Linux and many of their attendant applications without losing the advantages of the Mac OS.


As mentioned back in April 2006, when I last wrote about Parallels, which creates a "virtual machine" on your computer, the plus of all this comes if you're a Windows user who just switched to Mac, but have one or two "legacy" programs you just can't leave behind. Or, you might be a Mac user who needs those Windows applications to maintain more thorough connectivity with the enterprise network and your fellow users in other offices. Add to that list scholars or researchers who actually need a Windows-based resource not (yet, perhaps) available in a Mac format. You get the idea.


So what's changed in the last four years? Along with the dramatic uptick in Mac usage and sales, as noted here last week, Parallels Desktop for Macintosh has grown and matured a bit, too. The integration between Windows and Mac environments is smoother - I could easily access music files stored in an iTunes file directory under the Mac OS and play them using Windows Media Player - and I could work in OpenOffice's Writer program while also viewing the Mac version of Apple's Safari Web browser.

Letter from JWR publisher


Installing Win7 under the Parallels environment took a few minutes, as would any installation of Windows on any computer, with or without the creation of a "virtual machine." But the installation process was very smooth and omitted some of the speed bumps one might fear when doing this. There were no hiccups or hangups in the process.


And while I could work on both operating systems side-by-side, I could also slip into a "full screen" mode which changed my Mac into a Windows PC, if only for a few moments. Clicking on a "hot corner" of the Windows screen brought things back to normal, even if I was beginning to wonder what "normal" was. There's also a "Coherence" mode which runs Windows programs in a Mac environment, i.e., without the separate trappings of the full screen mode, and that was a nice option, too.


One of my greatest - and most pleasant - surprises came when I clicked the "print" button in OpenOffice Writer. While my first attempt directed printing to a "default" printer no longer in place, a quick click on the "Devices" menu button in the Parallels Desktop menu switched output to the correct device and, presto!, I was printing as if everything had been installed for me from the start. That's impressive, and one of the easiest printing solutions this reviewer has ever encountered.


As noted here before, you can accomplish something similar for just the cost of the Microsoft Windows operating system. Apple ships "Boot Camp" with its newer machines and the OS X operating system: run that program and you can then load Windows, selecting which OS to start your computer with at power-on. However, Boot Camp won't let you run both operating systems at once, defeating some of the purpose of having a dual-system computer.


That's why I like, and now recommend, a program such as Parallels Desktop for Mac. If you must live in some Microsoft Windows applications, it's a great way to do so.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Mark Kellner has reported on technology for industry newspapers and magazines since 1983, and has been the computer columnist for The Washington Times since 1991.Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2009, News World Communications, Inc. Reprinted with permission of The Washington Times. Visit the paper at http://www.washingtontimes.com

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles