Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 27, 2009 / 3 Adar 5769

Safe sexting? No such thing

By Lori Borgman

Lori Borgman
Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Sexting, sending nude pictures to one another by cell phone, has become a big fad among teens. A reporter covering the story says it is a new way to flirt. Silly me. I thought flirting was extended eye contact, a lingering touch or a coy smile. Now I find out flirting means ripping off your clothes and saying cheese.


Curiosity about the opposite sex certainly isn't new. Somewhere in the cave dwellings of early man, we would no doubt find at least one hieroglyphic of a stick figure with anatomically correct parts etched by a teen boy.


What is new, is the utter and total lack of discretion.


Lurid ladies let it all hang out in the Victoria's Secret windows, actresses intentionally forget their underwear, and sleaze oozes from the tube like lava flowing down the sides of a volcano.


Small wonder that parents find themselves confronting a nationwide epidemic known as sexting. Estimates are that one in five teens has either sent or received nude photos by cell phone.


A high school girl in Kansas sent her boyfriend a naughty photo of herself. Then they broke up and he sexted the photo to his pals. Middle-school students in Massachusetts face child pornography charges after a boy sexted a nude photo of his 13-year-old girlfriend to his buddies. And then there are the girls who give new meaning to the term call girl and sext nude photos of themselves to boys.


All across the country, teens face felony charges for child pornography. If convicted, some may spend decades on sexual predator registries. It doesn't matter if they sent the pictures or were recipients of pictures. It also doesn't matter if the pictures were taken with consent. An under-age child can't give consent. An under-age child can, however, do some very stupid things.


Still, there is a sense in which these kids have grown up "under the influence." Raunch has become a silent part of our cultural landscape, like a beige backdrop or small-print wallpaper. We hardly notice it. We rarely flinch.


Another teacher arrested for molesting a student? Ho-hum. Did I miss the five-day forecast?


Half-naked women writhe and stretch and caress themselves in music videos on the television sets suspended from the ceiling at the family fitness center. Trust me, they're not doing Pilates.


A young woman's derriere is hanging beneath her short shorts in the checkout line and my concern is whether she has 10 items or less in her cart.


We have all grown numb. We recognize the symptoms - adolescent girls aspiring to be pole dancers, boys objectifying girls, girls objectifying themselves, absentee parents and kids with no boundaries. But do we ever get at what lies beneath? Do we ever flip over that big ugly rock to study the sow bugs beneath?


At the core of the problem is a missing component that goes by the name virtue. Even the word sounds archaic. But that's what is missing.


People were once esteemed for their character. Classical Rome prided itself on citizens who embodied virtues like dignity, tenacity, prudence and modesty. Virtue was part of Roman culture. Virtue was once part of our culture. We, too, once shared a common regard for respectability and wholesomeness.


Ideally, virtue becomes so integral to a human being that honorable character goes wherever that person goes. Even into cyberspace.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Lori Borgman is the author of , most recently, "Catching Christmas" (Click HERE to purchase. Sales help fund JWR.) and I Was a Better Mother Before I Had Kids To comment, please click here. To visit her website click here.

ARCHIVES

© 2009, Lori Borgman

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles