Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 28, 2008 / 22 Adar I 5768

Nadir comes clean

By Roger Simon


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Let's get one thing straight: Ralph Nader did not cost Al Gore the presidency in 2000.


The people who voted for Ralph Nader cost Al Gore the presidency in 2000.


Gore lost to George W. Bush by 537 votes in Florida, a state where Nader got 97,448 votes.


And there is a phenomenon to describe casting a vote you later regret: It's called what we do every four years. Nader is completely unrepentant. He totally rejects and is insulted by the label "spoiler."


He believes he is merely exercising the right that every natural-born American has: the right to run for president.


Which is why I called him and asked him his favorite food.


He paused. Ralph Nader does not usually get questions about his favorite food.


Which, I believe, is the soft bigotry of low expectations.


"Stuffed eggplant with pignoli nuts," Nader finally told me.


Last movie you saw?


"'Michael Clayton,'" he said.


"Michael Clayton," I should point out, was a nominee this year for the best picture Oscar. It didn't win, but nobody accused it of being a spoiler.


What else does Ralph Nader do for fun? I asked.


"I used to play a lot of ping-pong," Nader replied. "I have a wicked backhand. And I was a good chess player. I did it more for the enjoyment than to crush my opponent. And I like to banter with reporters."


Banter? Actual banter? Describe some banter.


"I like to get them out of their cultural bind and ask them why they don't cover more stories and other topics outside of their box," Nader said. "Why don't they cover the military budget, for instance."


So imagine being a fly on the wall at those banter sessions.


A few years ago, when I was hiding out at Harvard at the Institute of Politics for a semester, Nader came and talked to the students in my study group and absolutely wowed them.


"You will really not get anything out of your Harvard education unless you develop a sense of social indignation," Nader told them.


Nader, who got his undergraduate degree at Princeton and a law degree at Harvard, also told the students: "When I got out of Princeton and Harvard, I felt cheated. What the hell did I learn? Don't you go through your four years of university without a passion to correct some social injustice."


So I asked Nader on the phone: What's the last novel you read?


"Upton Sinclair's 'Oil!'" Nader said. "Because of the movie."


"Oil!" — published in 1927 — was the inspiration for "There Will Be Blood," which also was nominated for, but did not win, the best picture Oscar this year. So maybe Nader has a thing for runners-up.


I asked him for a childhood anecdote.


"I was in the third grade and my teacher, Miss Franklin, said there was a public library near the school," Nader said. "I raised my hand and told her that it was a private memorial library and not a public library. 'Don't you counter me!' she said. And she made me sit in the dunce chair."


A dunce chair? An actual dunce chair? In the corner?


"A dunce chair in the corner," Nader said. "And she was factually wrong."


Nader turns 74 on Wednesday (but has not forgotten the name of his third-grade teacher) and remains extremely busy aside from running for president.


"I have a permanent backlog of about 30 issues," he said and added a little wistfully: "I really envy single-issue people, people who only care about the national parks, for instance."


Nader says he expects to get on the presidential ballot in at least 46 states by November, though he is not picking out new drapes for the Oval Office.


"I will have a tugboat candidacy," he said. "It will push the parties closer to the harbor of the people and away from the harbor of giant corporatism."


It looked like we were veering into serious waters, so I asked: What does Ralph Nader do for excitement?


"My life is not that exciting," Nader said.


So who says presidential candidates never tell the truth?

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on Roger Simon's column by clicking here.


Roger Simon Archives


© 2008, Creators Syndicate