Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 25, 2008 / 19 Adar I 5768

Does Hillary even have a Plan B?

By Roger Simon


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Barack Obama debating Hillary Clinton? Hey, what we want to see is John McCain debating New York Times Executive Editor Bill Keller.


But you take what you can get. And Thursday night in Austin, Texas, what we got was two lovey-dovey candidates who formed a mutual admiration society for an hour until the CNN moderators got sick of it and sicced the two on each other.


The issue the two Democrats were invited to attack each other on was whether Barack Obama was a plagiarist. Obama denied it, saying that he had been given permission to use a supporter's words without credit.


That gave Clinton the opportunity to deliver the killer line of the evening.


"If your candidacy is going to be about words, they should be your own words," Clinton said. "Lifting whole passages is not change you can believe in; it's change you can Xerox."


But one was immediately left wondering: Were those really Clinton's "own words"? Did she write them herself? Or was she just taking credit for them?


In any case, all that her bon mot earned her in the debate hall was a smattering of boos and a mutter from Obama.


Which is a continuing difficulty for Clinton and her campaign strategists: Will being more negative, more polarizing and less pleasant really help her win over Democratic voters? Democratic primary voters want Democrats to beat up on Republicans, not on each other.


Clinton went negative in a debate in Myrtle Beach, S.C., on Jan. 21, accusing Obama, among other things, of associating with a "slum landlord." Five days later, Obama beat her in South Carolina by 29 percentage points.


Clinton threw the kitchen sink at Obama in Wisconsin with a series of negative TV ads and speeches, and he beat her there Tuesday by 17 points.


The contest in which she most showed her most warm and human side — New Hampshire — is a state she won.


And, in fact, Clinton's best moment Thursday night came at the very end of the debate, when she was asked to talk about a crisis she has weathered and she said with a knowing smile: "Well, I think everybody here knows I've lived through some crises and some challenging moments in my life."


The audience laughed and applauded at her reference to her husband's infidelity. (Take that for your support, Bill! This is politics! Anybody can get thrown off the sled!)


But, by the end of the evening, one was still left wondering what Clinton's Plan B was, how she intends to snap Obama's 11-0 winning streak since Super Tuesday.


Texas and Ohio vote on March 4, and in Texas Clinton is depending on the Latino vote and in Ohio she is depending on looking like she will be better able to handle a bad economy.


But during the debate, the two candidates were able to show few real differences. When each was asked to name specific differences on the economy, Obama said: "Senator Clinton and I, I think, both agree on many of these issues."


And guess what? He was right!


Clinton responded: "Well, I would agree with a lot that Senator Obama just said."


Stylistically, Clinton seemed to enjoy herself more — she beamed throughout the evening — and while Obama clearly had a head cold, I have watched him at 19 of these debates now and I have never gotten the impression he was enjoying himself. Enjoyment is not impossible. John Edwards, a trial lawyer, clearly enjoyed the cut and thrust of debates. But Obama not so much. He prefers speeches (his own and others) to debating.


Still, he made his two key points: First, inspiration matters.


"The reason that this campaign has done so well is because people understand that it is not just a matter of putting forward policy positions," he said. "If we can't inspire the American people to get involved in their government...then we will continue to see the kind of gridlock and nonperformance in Washington that is resulting in families suffering in very real ways."


Second, his position against the Iraq war matters.


"On what I believe was the single most important foreign policy decision of this generation, whether or not to go to war in Iraq, I believe I showed the judgment of a commander in chief," he said. "And I think that Senator Clinton was wrong in her judgments on that."


Clinton once again hit her chief talking point. "I do offer solutions, that's what I believe in and what I have done," she said. "And there are differences between our records and our accomplishments."


By the end of the debate, they were best buds again. Obama not only pulled back the chair for her, but he looked like he was actually going to peck her on the cheek. At the last moment, however, he stuck out his hand and she grasped it in both of hers.


Now let's find a stage and two chairs and get that McCain and Keller guy to go at it.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on Roger Simon's column by clicking here.


Roger Simon Archives


© 2008, Creators Syndicate