Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 8, 2008 / 2 Adar I 5768

Picking Up, Putting Aside the Poor

By Roger Simon


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Some political moments are so bizarre that you have to believe they actually are sincere.


One such moment came this weekend, when Barack Obama mocked John Edwards in a speech.


Obama had done it before, but that was before Edwards suspended his campaign last Wednesday. (Suspending his campaign may not turn out to be a bad thing for Edwards. In 2004, Howard Dean achieved his sole primary victory — his home state of Vermont — two weeks after he suspended his campaign. Maybe some candidates would win more states if they never began campaigning at all.)


On Sunday, Obama was giving a speech in Delaware when he brought up Edwards. (I first noticed the video on Mark Halperin's "The Page." You can also find it in the blogs of Marc Ambinder and Politico's Ben Smith.)


In a humorous riff, Obama mentioned a debate in which Tim Russert had asked him, "What's your biggest weakness?"


Obama went on: "Well, I'm always losing paper. And so I have to have somebody around me to help me file things and keep my desk clean."


Obama then said Russert had asked Edwards the same question.


"And he says, 'Well, I am just so passionate about helping poor people,'" Obama said dryly.


It was a funny and sarcastic observation on the pomposity that can mark presidential campaigning — and this is not the first time Obama has made that joke.


As Jeff Zeleny noted on Jan. 17 in The New York Times, Obama did the same setup and then added: "If I had gone last, I would have known what the game was. I could have said: 'Well, you know, I like to help old ladies across the street. Sometimes they don't want to be helped. It's terrible.'"


Which is even funnier.


For the record, this is what Edwards actually told Russert his biggest weakness was: "I sometimes have a very powerful emotional response to pain that I see around me."


Which you can either view as a very human and sincere moment, or you can say, "Oh, puh-leeze, gag me with a spoon."


Obama apparently viewed it the latter way. But why is he bringing it up again now?


It may be because Edwards has failed to endorse Obama, and Obama is irritated with him for holding out. And perhaps Edwards is asking for too much in return. (Real negotiating goes on for these endorsements, by the way, with real jobs mentioned.)


Or Obama could have just been making a joke. But it is a joke that strikes at the heart of the collapse of Edwards' campaign: his inability to sell himself as an authentic champion of the poor — and I am not just talking about his expensive haircuts.


I was in New Orleans in late December 2006 when Edwards announced for the presidency in that shattered city, and I later wrote a column praising Edwards for his courage in championing the impoverished rather than the middle class.


Most Democratic candidates for president pander to the middle class because that is where the votes and the campaign contributions are.


Yet here was Edwards, not just making poverty the centerpiece of his campaign but asking middle-class Americans to sacrifice to help the poor, including the possibility of paying higher taxes.


Isn't that a risk? I asked him back then.


"There is clearly a political risk, no question," Edwards told me. "But I actually believe this is what America needs."


He didn't stick to it. By early January 2008, before the New Hampshire primary, Edwards was barely mentioning the poor. Instead, he was portraying himself as a tireless fighter for — you guessed it — the middle class.


Which did not do much for him. And so Edwards began to swing back to being a champion for the poor — again. Which also did not do much for him.


But when he went back to New Orleans last week to suspend his campaign, he announced he had extracted pledges from Hillary Clinton and Obama to "make ending poverty central to their campaign for the presidency and ... central to their presidency."


Maybe Obama found that another inauthentic and self-aggrandizing moment by Edwards.


And maybe Obama didn't like publicly being forced to declare his devotion to the poor by a candidate who took up that cause — and put it down — when it suited him.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on Roger Simon's column by clicking here.


Roger Simon Archives


© 2008, Creators Syndicate