Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 11, 2008 / 5 Adar I 5768

When the melting pot boils over

By Clarence Page


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | LOS ANGELES — While Sens. Hillary Clinton and Barack Obama rebutted each other last week before a star-studded audience in the Democratic presidential debate in Hollywood's Kodak Theatre, residents elsewhere in Los Angeles County were dodging bullets in a race war.


An outbreak of gang shootings between blacks and Latinos in the nearby city of Monrovia had left a 64-year-old black man and a 16-year-old Latina dead, according to news reports. Police said the two were innocent bystanders in a brawl that left seven people dead or wounded in gunfire by suspected black and Latino gang members.


The debaters and the gang-bangers are related in the weird ways that politics link everything in our society. Sporadic reports of interracial violence feed anxieties, justifiably or not, about the ability of blacks and Hispanics to get along, whether on the streets, in the workplace or in politics.


Those concerns surfaced into national politics as the presidential campaign moved to Arizona, Florida, California and other states with large Hispanic populations. Sergio Bendixen, a Miami-based consultant to the Clinton campaign on cross-cultural relations, kicked off a new national conversation when he said in an interview that, "The Hispanic voter — and I want to say this very carefully — has not shown a lot of willingness or affinity to support black candidates."


To get another view, I called Roberto Suro, a University of Southern Californiacommunications professor who, until recently, was head of the Pew Hispanic Center. When he heard that I was calling to ask about black-Hispanic relations, he said with a laugh, "Well, we're back to where we started, aren't we, Clarence?"


Yes. Thirty years ago, Roberto and I were teamed up as young Chicago Tribune reporters charged with investigating apparently growing tensions between African- and Hispanic-Americans. It was the 1970s. Identifiable blacks and Latinos were still a fairly new thing in mainstream newsrooms. Part of our unwritten job description in those turbulent times, it seemed, was to keep our eyes peeled for possible riots by our city's darker-skinned people.


For some reason, a lot of white folks, in particular, expected blacks and Hispanics to have a natural affinity for allying with each other, as if all non-whites think alike.


Our Tribune city editor decided to dispatch what I called his "Woodward and Bernstein of color" to figure out how well blacks and Latinos were getting along — or not.


In short, we found that most blacks and Latinos were following the same patterns of ambition, envy, overcoming and upward mobility as the salad bowl of ethnics who preceded them. Sociologists call this process "ethnic succession." It is at least as old and as American as apple pie. So is ethnic anxiety.


Benjamin Franklin, it is worth noting, railed in 1751 against the "swarm" of Germans, whom he called "Palatine boors," who were "herding together" and turning Pennsylvania into a "colony of aliens" who will "never adopt our language or customs, any more than they can acquire our complexion." In today's world, Franklin might well be a star on cable television or talk radio.


Times change, but patterns of ethnic succession — and interethnic anxiety — stay the same. Over time, groups settle, work hard and move up the economic ladder, perhaps to look down on the new "swarm" that followed them into their old neighborhoods.


Gang fights and other violence tend to occur where they always have, among the most poor and desperate — and the victims are usually of the same race as their assailants.


Politically, the most rewarding aspect of ethnic success is not how often people vote for "their own kind" but how often they don't. Contrary to Bendixen's observation, Hispanics have voted in overwhelming numbers for former black mayors like Chicago's Harold Washington, New York's David Dinkins and Dallas' Ron Kirk. Blacks have similarly turned out for Hispanic politicians when they view it, as any savvy voter would, as being in their interest.


But first, as Mayor Antonio R. Villaraigosa of Los Angeles told me in the spin room backstage at the debate, voters need to get to know the candidate, regardless of ethnicity.


"The idea that Latinos won't vote for someone because of their race or ethnicity just doesn't pass the smell test," Villaraigosa said. "You know, when people say to me, African-Americans didn't vote for you in your first race, I say, well, they didn't know me! In my second race, they did. And they voted for me overwhelmingly!"


That's another important part of human nature that hasn't changed. The better we get to know each other as individuals, the better we will get along as groups.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on Clarence Page's column by clicking here.

Archives

© 2007, TMS

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles