Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 1, 2008 / 25 Shevat 5768

FIBER UP!

By Mark Kellner

Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | If you can possibly do it, now may be the time to add more fiber to your life. I'm not talking about diet, but rather fiber optic service, or FiOS, as Verizon calls it. Since the install of this broadband Internet, television and voice telephone service late last week, I've been on Cloud 9 - it's that good.


Download speeds are either just above or just below the 15 Megabits-per-second Verizon offered in my service package. Using two different online tests, I saw readings of 15.4 Mbps or 14.5 Mbps when downloading an Internet page. That's roughly three times my previous speed with Comcast's cable-based Internet service.


Upload speeds are close to the 2 Mbps advertised by Verizon; speed meters clocked the upload at about 1.7 or 1.8 Mbps. More important, those upload speeds were consistent when tested with servers in Seattle, Washington; by contrast, download speeds were cut to about 5.6 Mbps from the distant server.


Numbers, however, are an abstraction unless there's some context: how does the service perform in actual use? Well, whether I'm surfing a local site or one decidedly distant, such as www.ehawaii.gov, the state government portal for Hawaii, the page loads super-quickly. I've seen equally good speeds when loading Web pages I reliably believed were hosted in Israel, South Korea and Japan, all geographically distant locations.


I'm also impressed that, generally, there's little in the way of hiccups with the FiOS Internet service. With my previous Internet provider, streaming audio would often "hiccup" at the beginning or during a transmission. Here, there's no "rebuffering stream" message onscreen when connecting to a remote source. Instead, there's crisp, clear sound from the get-go.


I haven't used FiOS for Voice-over-Internet Protocol, or VoIP, telephony yet, but I suspect the experience will be more than satisfactory. Ditto for online video chats, or so I hope.


The bottom line is that the FiOS service, so far, is exactly as advertised. This means a consistent experience for Internet use and the hope of greater multimedia satisfaction. That's important not only because, well, I'm paying for all this, but also because, if the future of media is to converge in the Internet, we're going to need reliable, solid and high-capacity transmissions that can handle all this data. So far, Verizon FiOS delivers.


Other aspects of the FiOS package should be noted: telephone service is included, with national long distance a part of the deal. We've got more channels of television than we'd ever have time to watch. And the total package, in both the first and second years, will cost less than we paid for separate telephone and cable/Internet packages.


Using an Elgato EyeTV 200 unit and a Verizon-supplied cable box, I'm able to watch many of the television channels on an Apple, Inc., IMac desktop. The computer is also attached to a wireless router that sends an encrypted Wi-Fi signal throughout our house. Wireless performance is good, but on the second floor, three levels up from the basement where my office is located, we needed to add an AirPort Express module to boost wireless reception. Once this $99 item from Apple was attached, the upstairs Mac could log on to the Internet.


One note about the television service: Verizon, unlike Comcast, supplied an HDMI, or High-Definition Multimedia Interface, cable to connect the digital set-top box to our Sony high-definition LCD. What was a very good picture using a "composite" cable now is spectacular, HD-wise, with the HDMI cable.


I'm sure there will be more lessons as our super-broadband adventure continues. But after years and years of cable monopolies, it's nice to have an alternative, and to have it work so very, very well.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Mark Kellner has reported on technology for industry newspapers and magazines since 1983, and has been the computer columnist for The Washington Times since 1991.Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2008, News World Communications, Inc. Reprinted with permission of The Washington Times. Visit the paper at http://www.washingtontimes.com

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles