Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 13, 2007 / 25 Shevat, 5767

Pax America and Russia coalition to ignite peace throughout the world?

By Ed Koch


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The United States should work hard to develop a strong alliance with Russia. I believe such an alliance would be in the best interest of both nations.


During the Cold War, Russia — then known as the Soviet Union — was our enemy. But today, with radical Islam on the march, we should remember that Russia's roots are in Western civilization. We should nourish those roots and cooperate closely with Russia in the war on terror.


Russia has suffered large numbers of injuries and deaths as a result of terrorist actions, primarily by Chechnian Muslims who have been responsible for major terrorist acts in Moscow and the town of Beslan. The latter involved the killing of over 325 hostages — half were children — and hundreds more were wounded. Many of those deaths appear to have been the result of incompetence on the part of Russian forces seeking to free the hostages. Nevertheless, it was the taking of those children hostages by the Chechnian terrorists that caused their deaths.


Friendship with Russia is also important to the West because Russia has huge reserves of oil and natural gas. Russia is capable of supplying Europe's energy needs on a scale comparable to Saudi Arabia. Since the breakup of the Soviet Union, however, Russian self-esteem has suffered in many ways. Under President Vladimir Putin, Russia is no longer seen as a world super power equivalent to the U.S. Some countries, which used to be part of the Soviet Union, have joined NATO, greatly reducing Russia's sphere of influence. Some of those former Soviet nations now have NATO weaponry in place.


Based on statements that President Putin made on February 10, Russia clearly feels threatened by the U.S. You don't have to be a psychiatrist to recognize the fear, alarm and rising anger in Putin's belief that Russia is being encircled and disrespected.


According to The New York Times:


"President Vladimir V. Putin of Russia accused the United States on Saturday of provoking a new nuclear arms race by developing ballistic missile defenses, undermining international institutions and making the Middle East more unstable through its clumsy handling of the Iraq war. "In an address to an international security conference, Mr. Putin dropped all diplomatic gloss to recite a long list of complaints about American domination of global affairs, including many of the themes that have strained relations between the Kremlin and the United States during his seven-year administration."


Russia's fears are based on what the West, including the U.S., tried to do in 1917: stifle the Russian revolution at birth. Despite its military power, the Soviet Union had a weak economy, which eventually resulted in its collapse. The Berlin Wall was torn down and the Soviet Union could no longer compete militarily and economically with the U. S.


Those same issues are causing Russia concern today.


Putin sums it up with The Times reporting:


"'Primarily the United States has overstepped its national borders, and in every area,' said Mr. Putin who increasingly has tried to re-establish Russia's once broad Soviet-era influence, using Russia's natural resources as leverage and defending nations at odds with the United States, including Iran.

"American military actions, which he termed unilateral and illegitimate, also 'have not been able to resolve any matters at all,' and, he said have created only more instability and danger. "'They bring us to the abyss of one conflict after another," he said. 'Political solutions are becoming impossible.'"


I supported and continue to support President Bush's ending the ABM treaty so as to allow the U.S. to build an effective anti-missile shield in the skies over the U.S. and its allies. I said at the time of Bush's courageous act in ending the prohibition against defenses to ballistic missiles that the system should be offered to Russia as well.


The reasoning behind the decision to build such a system was a need to protect against nuclear missiles aimed at the U.S. by rogue nations like North Korea and now Iran. And also to guard against terrorists using the bomb and technology secured from rogue scientists like Dr. Khan who had been in charge of Pakistan's nuclear program. He successfully developed the bomb and was selling the so-called Muslim bomb to others.


Prior to all of this, the Soviet Union and its successor Russia as well as the U.S. relied on the concept of MAD (Mutual Assured Destruction) which would deter both the U.S. and Russia from attacking one another knowing the other would respond and both nations would be destroyed. Russia fears the U.S. would use nuclear ballistic weapons believing it could ward off a Russian response with its new anti-ballistic missile capability. That fear is legitimate and must be removed which can be done by providing Russia with our technology. Even better would be joining forces to build a joint system as we have joined forces to explore space, currently building the new space platform together.


According to The Times, Putin "expressed alarm that an effective antimissile shield over the Untied States would upset a system of mutual fear that kept the nuclear peace throughout the cold war. 'That means the balance will be upset, completely upset,' he said."


Russia is a great nation. Its people admire and respect the people of the U.S., and I believe that admiration and respect is reciprocated. In World War II, we joined forces with the USSR to defeat the common enemy, Nazi Germany. With hindsight we know that we could not have won that war without the Soviet forces, primarily Russians fighting shoulder to shoulder with us. They suffered 10 million military deaths, in addition to millions of other casualties in that war which they called the Great Patriotic War.


Russian citizens know the feeling of defeat which they suffered in Afghanistan. They know the pain of terrorism in their homeland. We have so much in common. We should not allow the current rift to continue.


We know that when we needed our NATO allies to stand with us in Iraq, most shirked or totally failed in their obligation to stand with us as we had stood with them in World War I, World War II, and the cold war which had threatened their very existence as independent countries.


Today even our closest ally Great Britain is leaving our side. In all candor, it hasn't played a totally committed role with us. We had 140,000 troops before the pending surge in Iraq, and the British have 8,000. The French have none, and the Spaniards have withdrawn their meager forces. Our Arab regional allies have no troops on the ground. Do they remember that we protected Saudi Arabia from Iraqi invasion and freed Kuwait from Iraqi occupation?


My belief is that if a true, sincere, and total economic and military alliance were fashioned with Russia, we would be assured of victory over Islamic terrorism. A Pax America and Russia, guaranteeing peace throughout the world, while not easy to do, is nevertheless doable.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Edward I. Koch, the former mayor of New York, can be heard on Bloomberg Radio (WBBR 1130 AM) every Sunday from 9-10 am . Comment by clicking here.

Archives


© 2007, Ed Koch

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles