Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 28, 2007 / 10 Adar, 5767

My dirty little secret: An hour of daytime TV

By Marybeth Hicks



Printer Friendly Version

Email this article


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | If my children ever read this, I'll deny it, but the truth is, I recently did something really naughty. I watched daytime TV.


I never watch daytime TV. I know all about Oprah, in theory, but I could count on one hand the number of times I've actually seen her show. I don't watch soap operas, either. I also don't watch "The View" (though the Rosie/Donald Trump thing made it tempting).


I don't even watch morning news shows while getting dressed.


But one day about a week ago, while making lunch for myself, I decided to take my sandwich into the den and see if I could find a creative idea for dinner by watching a few minutes of the Food Network. When your regular menu includes several dishes prepared with Campbell's Cream of Mushroom Soup, you need inspiration every now and again.


I make a turkey sandwich and grab a diet soda and park myself on the easy chair, clicking on the remote as I nibble a pretzel. I don't know why, but this feels like a guilty pleasure, even though my intentions are entirely honorable. (I think about closing the blinds, but the street is empty, so I don't bother).


The TV is still on ESPN from last night, so I watch a few minutes of basketball highlight clips. The announcers are engaged in some inane banter, which I find oddly embarrassing (do they know they're talking about yesterday's basketball games while all across America, hardworking people are doing real jobs?), so I start surfing for a cooking show.


But what's this? HGTV has do-it-yourself programming on in the afternoon. I never knew. I watch a segment of instructions on handcrafting exotic soaps before I realize I'm off task once again. Besides, who has time to make soap? And who really owns the materials to shrink-wrap the soap they have no time to make? (I stay on the program long enough to watch the host blow-dry the shrink wrapping, wondering if this is how they do it at the Ivory factory.)


This is when I remember I'm not a do-it-yourselfer, so I channel-surf some more, still intending to find a yummy recipe from Paula Deen.


But what's this? The Learning Channel offers a program that draws me, making me forget the vacuum I should be operating rather than watching daytime TV. It's called "Ten Years Younger."


The show takes a woman with leathery skin and a lifetime of bad habits (smoking, sun tanning, bar hopping), puts her in the ugliest, most unattractive attire it can find and then stands her in a soundproof Plexiglas booth in the middle of an outdoor mall. There, displayed like a defective mannequin, she looks off into the distance while strangers are surveyed with the question: Guess this woman's age.


The average age they guess is 59. When this is revealed, she's devastated. "The big question," says the host, is ""How old are you?" He turns and looks straight at me through the lens of the camera and says, "Stay tuned, and we'll all find out after a commercial break." Commercial break? I have laundry to do and work waiting for me in the "in" box of my e-mail — and I still don't know what to make for tonight's dinner.


Don't be silly; of course I stay tuned.


She's 48. Poor gal. I thought she looked like she was pushing retirement — the kind with full benefits.


This is when the show's experts kick into high gear. There's a visit with a dermatologist who uses lasers, peels and a few other painful-looking remedies to change this woman's skin from leathery to lustrous.


Next comes the "glam squad," three artsy-looking young persons who work wonders with hair, makeup and fashion.


Before she knows it, our would-be septuagenarian is restored to midlife vim and vigor. She's got golden highlights, a forgiving foundation to even out her skin tone and a dress that clearly cost enough to make anyone look good.


The last step in the transformation is a return to the Plexiglas booth for a second survey. This time the strangers wandering the street guess she's 44, which means not only are the experts on their game, but the show underpromised and overdelivered. The clock is turned back a full 15 years.


By now I've spent 40 minutes in front of the TV, and I still haven't discovered a way to make chicken that won't elicit groans from my family.


My venture into daytime TV land is proving as unproductive as I assumed it would be. Finally, I click the Food Network and wait out the commercial break. Inspiration awaits in less than 30 seconds.


What's this? A new show — "Dinner: Impossible." Chef Robert Irvine puts his culinary skills to the test by preparing a two-course meal in an authentic 18th-century kitchen. His challenge is to make 13 dishes using only the ingredients, tools and equipment from 1776. He can't even use his own professional carbon knife set.


I can't turn the TV off now. The laundry will have to wait.


Unfortunately, I don't get any dinner ideas from chef Irvine as he's preparing mutton stew and some sort of oyster dish. I presume this is Revolutionary comfort food, but I'd have a tough time selling oysters to my crew.


But what's this? He's doing something with mushrooms that looks really familiar. Could it be? Chicken with cream of mushroom gravy?


No wonder I never watch daytime TV. There's nothing on.

Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

MAYBETH'S FIRST BOOK!
"The Perfect World Inside My Minivan -- One mom's journey through the streets of suburbia"  

Marybeth Hicks offers readers common-sense wisdom in dealing with today's culture. Her anecdotes of her husband and four children tap into universal themes that every parent can relate to and appreciate. -- Wesley Pruden, Editor-in-Chief, The Washington Times
Sales help fund JWR.

JWR contributor Marybeth Hicks, a wife of 19 years and mother of four children, lives in the Midwest. She uses her column to share her perspective on issues and experiences that shape families nationwide. To comment, please click here.


Archives




© 2006, Marybeth Hicks