Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Readers have questions, concerns

By Randy A. Salas


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) The latest batch of reader e-mails concerns follow-ups on spam and names for domains and babies, and questions about recipes and tiny bags.

— — —

HERE'S ANOTHER WORD

Hey, Web Search: I read a recent column about the random-word Web sites ("Quick, give me a word," www.startribune.com/websearch/?p=185). The real tragedy is the squatters who just hold pages with no intention of ever using them. I started a Web site with three friends for sharing information on a map for people to explore. I liked the metaphor "graffiti" because of people's natural instinct to leave a mark on the world. I contacted the owner of the squatted domain, and he wanted $100,000 for it! Needless to say, I went with www.grapheety.com.

— Gavin Quinn, Minneapolis

Randy says: I sympathize with you. Cybersquatting - registering potential domain names just to resell them - is a huge problem. Although it won't help in your case, one trick is to register alternate URLs that end in ".org" or ".net," for example. Read more about the issue via Nolo's guide at www.startribune.com/a2240.

— — —

LOOKING TO COOK

Hey, Web Search: Are there any Web sites out there that allow a cook to easily archive his or her collection of recipes? One that is Mac friendly would be preferred. There is a "Mastercook" program, but it is only PC-compatible. Maybe your readers would have some favorites.

— Esther Johnson (no city)

Randy says: Try the free program "Measuring Cup" (www.shallotpatch.com). If you like it, you can send the developer a few bucks. It will cost you nothing to evaluate it or keep it. If that doesn't work, there are many Mac recipe programs of varying prices (most free to try, with printing or adding recipes disabled) listed at Pure Mac (www.pure-mac.com/recipes.html).

— — —

RELIEF FROM SPAM

Hey, Web Search: Your article appeared in our local newspaper on Jan. 28 - "Just leave me alone." I tried going to the site spam.abuse.net. It came up not a valid address. I'm averaging 75 spam e-mails a day. I am really looking for some help.

— Lori Nipper Murillo, Ceres, Calif.

Randy says: That's an older column (www.startribune.com/websearch/?p=70) that the news service reran, but that spam-fighting site is still valid. Paste it into your Web browser exactly as you've typed it in your e-mail. Don't use "www." or ".com" in the URL; it's just spam.abuse.net.

— — —

IT'S IN THE BAG

Hey, Web Search: Thank you for such an informative column. I delight in the new Web sites you have directed me to. I have a question: I need tiny bags - can be zipped or other, the type you put a nut or bolt in and take to the register. Do you know where I can purchase this type of bag? When I go to Google, the amount of erroneous sites is amazing.

— Sandy Stanek, Lake Wylie, S.C.

Randy says: Try online shipping supplier Uline. Check out its tiny reclosable plastic bags in various thicknesses and sizes at www.uline.com/Group — 5.asp.

— — —

NEOMA'S THE NAME

Hey, Web Search: I so enjoyed the Web Search from Jan. 22 ("Baby name game," www.startribune.com/websearch/?page — id=44), because my mother's name is Neoma! How I would love to know about how well other women with that name like being named Neoma. My mother has never liked her name. When people call her "Norma" or "Naomi," she lets them. Why? "Because they are better names than Neoma!" Too many years with the childhood nickname of "Pneumonia," I guess. Also, she would like to go to a rack of personalized items and pick her name right off the shelf, "just once." When our daughter was born, my husband and I wanted to use Neoma as her middle name. What a fuss Mom made! "Don't do that to a child!" she exclaimed. I've always liked the name Neoma because of Mom. Thank you for the surprise of seeing her name in print.

— Jan Isaak Nicolai, Rosemount, Minn.

Randy says: I just randomly picked Neoma when I wrote that column originally in 2005 - although I did intentionally find a name that was unusual. Funny thing: My Mom's name is close to that, too: Noella.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Randy A. Salas is a columnist for the Minneapolis Star Tribune. Do you have a favorite Web site or a question about how to find something on the Internet? Send a note by clicking here.



Previously:

Quick, give me a word
Driving you crazy
The joy of Bob Ross
Online goes prime time
You don't need to know this
Remembering the creator of Scooby-Doo
Do-it-yourself art
‘Leave me alone!’
Special deliveries
Weight-loss journeys
Daily routines
Working without a map
Just you watch!
New year, new diet
Your mail answered
Chatting: Central characters
Wonders never cease
Secret messages
For your consideration
Freaky food forays
Best of 2006 online
Missed marketing
H.G. Wells’ legacy endures
A quest for dragons
E-mails you've sent
In the news
It's free!
Websites that help you find books that are right for you
Coping with illness
Some serious face time
Some serious face time
In reply to your e-mail ...
Turn your handwriting into a computer-based font that will allow you to churn out homespun greetings
Music for everyone
'Elusive planet' can be viewed clearly from Earth with the naked eye
Central characters
E-mail @ 35
Idle chatter
Funny money
Classic artwork in motion
For an unusual Thanksgiving
Your slip is showing
Best of the worst
Test your mind power
Remain anonymous

© 2006, Star Tribune Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles