Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 20, 2006 / 22 Shevat, 5766

Veep's virtue

By Jay D. Homnick


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Whether one agrees with Rush Limbaugh that the media views Dick Cheney as a marked man, this much seems safe to say: a marksman he ain't. If "safe' is the word I'm looking for.


Hard not to think back to George Jessel, who was famous among showbiz folks for never managing to break 100 in golf. One day George Burns walked into the clubhouse and found him exulting over finally shooting a ninety-nine. "How did you do it?" asked Burns. Jessel responded: "How did I do it? I'll tell you how I did it. Every shot was perfect!" Perhaps the Vice President should move on to other forms of recreation, now that he finally hit something -- a man named Harry Whittington who had every right to quail. And the greatest thing about this story is that it comes with a built-in movie title: When Harry Met the Sally.


Jesting aside, this tragedy of errors has finally arrived at its meaningful destination. The Vice President has finally been heard on the subject.


(Okay, just one jest. Am I the only one who thinks that it's weird to explain a hunting accident on Fox?) Moral pedants can sniff that he ought to have done so sooner, and public-relations mavens can kibitz that he should have gotten out ahead of the media frenzy. For serious people who want to absorb the social import and historical impact, the day that counts is today. A man stood up with the eyes of the nation upon him and owned up.


Here are his words: "Well, ultimately I'm the guy who pulled the trigger that fired the round that hit Harry. And you can talk about all of the other conditions that existed at the time, but that's the bottom line. And there's no -- it was not Harry's fault. You can't blame anybody else. I'm the guy who pulled the trigger and shot my friend." That's being a stand-up guy. Maybe it took three days of soul-searching to arrive at that place; we have all been there and it's not an easy process. What counts is today.


This is class. This is character.


According to Jewish tradition, Judah earned the right for his tribe to have kingship over the others because he confessed publicly that he was the father of Tamar's twins (Genesis 38:26). In fact, one of the meanings of Judah is "he will admit". Later, his descendant King David, after having the prophet castigate his behavior, cried: "I have sinned…!" (Samuel I 12:13). This is taken as proof that he had inherited that great quality that is prerequisite for leadership.


The verse in Leviticus (4:22) outlines a program of penitence to be fulfilled "when a king should sin". If read very literally, it almost looks like this is good news, something that "should" happen. The Talmud (Horayot 10b) explains that every leader sins, but fortunate is that generation whose king is able to accept that he has erred: that is what "should" happen. Elsewhere, the Talmud (Yoma 86b) posits that although one should not broadcast his private misdeeds, wrongdoing committed in public must be acknowledged in public, as Solomon wrote (Proverbs 28:13): "He who tries to cover up his offenses will not succeed, but if he admits and desists, he will receive sympathy."


All this chapter and verse has been confirmed by millennia of history. People who are blind to their shortcomings eventually trip over them. Additionally, their subordinates and subjects see this hubris and lose respect. On the other hand, when a person in a high position offers an honest self-appraisal with warts and all, his ability to make better judgments in future is enhanced and he is much respected by the world-at-large.


In truth, there has been a reluctance to admit error on the part of this administration, perhaps no worse than previous ones but still pronounced. That teaser question by David Gregory to President Bush at a few press conferences, asking him to cite his own biggest mistake, while rude in its presentation seemed to be gleaning a kernel of truth. The natural human tendency is to be defensive, to imagine that conceding a mistake feeds one's enemies, but in reality it does more to inspire and reassure one's friends.


There are plenty of ways to do tricky jabs masquerading as admissions.


Sharon Stone once dropped me a note after reading my column: "Dear Jay, I used to think that you were a pretty smart guy but now I see that I was mistaken." To which I responded that I take pride in being the first man to get her to admit error. (Yes, I know: she topped me, but I had to say something.) But there was nothing mealy-mouthed or evasive about Cheney's mea culpa.


It was, you should excuse the expression, right on the mark.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Jay D. Homnick is the author of many books and essays on Jewish political and religious affairs. Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2006, Jay D. Homnick

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles