Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 23, 2005 / 14 Adar I, 5765

Friends insensitive to office mom?; hubby is pain over migraine treatment; catching sis lying often

By Wendy Belzberg

Printer Friendly Version

Email this article


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Q: Many of my friends are non-working mothers. Is it petty of me to be irritated when they make lunch dates and ask either where I'm likely to be that day (I'm in my office, which has a fixed address) and if I can meet them in their part of town? I understand that they have commitments too, but I am the one with a set schedule and proscribed lunch hour.


A: Though I personally believe pettiness, like grudge holding, to be a highly under-appreciated art and a perfectly legitimate one in many instances, the word inconsiderate more comes to mind. Working mothers need all of the slack they can get. The bottom line is that they work a double shift, whether they're the ones making dinner and tending the laundry or not. Children by definition are not aware of their mothers' responsibilities; ditto some husbands. But a fellow mother, or even a female friend, cannot be excused for failing to appreciate the delicate high-wire act. Call it whatever you wish. It's not a competition. But your non-working friends should be meeting you in the lobby café.

Donate to JWR


Q: I suffer from terrible headaches and have for many years. I have found no relief in traditional medicine and was considering consulting a Chinese healer who believes in the laying on of hands. My husband thinks I'm turning into a fruitcake and has been so disparaging about my plan that I have not pursued it. What are your thoughts?


A: I think that if your husband suffered from debilitating migraines he would stop at nothing to get relief from the pain--including a live sacrifice to the gods. Compared with this, acupuncture, osteopathy, homeopathy, crystals, and herbs seem like reasonable approaches. I am of the mind that in a situation like this you throw everything up against the wall and assume, hope, pray and convince yourself that something will stick. There's a reason why these treatments have been around for centuries. Remember that it took until the 20th century for chicken soup to establish it's scientific credentials. It established its curative ones centuries earlier.

Q: My sister lies to me with some frequency. This has become increasingly clear since her children are now old enough to speak. When I ask her if I can stop by for a visit she tells me she already has plans. Later when I speak to my nephews, they tell me they spent the day at home watching movies. I am insulted and frustrated when my sister does this and I would like her to know that I'm on to her.


A: Do you believe your sister's lies to be global in nature or limited to explanations for why she cannot make plans with you? If she has a long-standing history of lying then you and I both are in over our heads; your sister needs professional help. If not, perhaps the problem lies with you, and your sister is simply guilty of trying to spare your feelings. I don't know the history between you. What I do know is that the one example you cite could be construed as a "white lie" to stop you from dropping by. Your relationship with your sister would benefit from an even-handed heart-to-heart rather than a full-blown confrontation. Accusing anyone of lying is never a good conversation opener. Adding depositions from the under-12 set is equally ill-advised. Kids gloves, and an open heart, are what this one calls for.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.




Ask Wendy a question — almost any question — by clicking here.

Ask Wendy Archives



© 2005, Wendy Belzberg