Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb.15 2005 / 6 Adar I, 5765

No tutoring in the tub

By Lenore Skenazy


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Want to get your teenager out of the bathroom fast? Of course you do. So run out and buy the new SAT Vocabulary Shower Curtain.

That's right, I'm talking about a $15 clear vinyl curtain covered with big words, dictionary definitions and eventually — if your kid is a normal, well-adjusted student who lives for anything other than A's — tear-salted soapsuds that spell out, "I CAN'T TAKE THIS ANYMORE!" Naturally, that is not how entrepreneur Kevin Tung sees this curtain of his. No, he says his goal is "simple, stress-free learning."

And just how stress-free is it to take a shower with Stanley Kaplan standing (metaphorically) next to you? It ain't. But in this overachieving cramfest we call the 21st century, time is a-wasting! Crank up the Mozart and crack open the books!

Tung, who calls his company Intuitive Learning (tilcoweb.com), is aiming to make sure not one moment slips by without some extra tutoring.

"Our whole concept," he says, "is to take basic household items and put education topics on them."

Basic items like, say, cereal bowls? That kind of thing?

Exactly! "A student can be eating breakfast and at the bottom of his bowl are geometry shapes and equations," enthuses Tung, who is already at work on just such an item. "If a student stares at that bowl every day for 365 days, they're bound to understand what an isosceles triangle is."

Unless, of course, by Day 23 that student has smashed the bowl, packed his bags and left a note: "Gone to make things from sticks. Back in a decade."

Now listen — I, too, want the best for my kids. I want them to love to read and get good grades and graduate college and earn a living and get married and have grandchildren soon, because I had my own kids so late and I'm getting old and . . . what was I saying? Oh yes, like most parents, I, too, want my kids to ace those SATs. But not if it means turning life into one unending homework session. I mean, what's next? Flash card toilet paper? Undies embossed with epic poems? Alphabet soup in Latin, Greek and hieroglyphics? I'd joke about plush toys teaching phonics, but those are already hugely successful!

Donate to JWR


The idea behind all these items is that kids are vessels to be filled, and the ones stuffed fullest win. But that's assuming that kids should be stuffed full of test prep. They shouldn't.

Stuffing kids full of cookie-baking works for me. Skating, doodling, dancing — those are all good kid-stuffers, as is time in the tub with bubbles, not words like "bombastic," "bellicose" and "bulbous."

Tung says he did "very well" on his SATs — so well that he got into Columbia. But what is he doing now? Peddling shower curtains.

Let that be a lesson.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and the media consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Lenore Skenazy is a columnist for The New York Daily News. Comment by clicking here.

Lenore Skenazy Archives



© 2005 NY Daily News