Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb.1, 2005 / 22 Shevat, 5765

Clean up your act

By Lenore Skenazy


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | As I sit here slurping noodles at my desk in the middle of the newsroom, I realize that perhaps I am not the right one to be asking this question (especially since some of the noodles just spilled on my lap and - mmm! Waste not, want not!), but anyway, here goes:

Why is everyone so disgusting in public these days?

I mean, look around you. Sniff around you. Perk up your ears. If you are in a mall or on a bus or anywhere that isn't the Oval Office (lately), chances are that right now you are overhearing someone's dinner plans, dating history and/or recent diagnosis: "Polyp! You know - polyp! A BUMP ON THE LINING!"

Turn around and you'll see someone else putting on her makeup. Not just the lipstick, but the whole shebang, with sponges and swabs and sometimes the application of entire eyebrows.

Brett, a friend who flies a lot for business, says he has been on several trips where the women near him were painting their nails. "Smelled like a salon!" And that was a good smell compared to the passengers gnawing their cheesesteaks and tuna heros even before the plane took off.

At my local multiplex, I have been hard-pressed to concentrate on a movie (okay, "The Incredibles" - not that deep) while sitting behind a family eating their evening meal. I couldn't even blame them for all the lip-smacking and ketchup-dripping because the theater sells these meals! Not just nachos but entire chicken dinners, with side dishes! Maybe the VCR brought movies to our living rooms, but now the movie theaters are returning the favor.

In fact, the whole world has pretty much become our living room, and the reasons are as many as the magazines slipping off the coffee table. Clearly, it was the cell phone that brought private conversations into the public sphere. But remember when boom boxes brought someone else's choice of music to the streets? The assailing of innocent ears goes back at least to the 1980s.

Donate to JWR


As for gorging in public, it was fast food that brought eating out of the home into the car. It has been spilling out ever since. Clever marketers, aware that we're willing to do pretty much anything so long as we can eat while doing it, started serving food in hitherto off-limits locales, like bookstores and supermarkets. Now we don't even think twice about chewing in front of strangers trying to read or shop.

And of course, our time-crunched lifestyle means that a busy mom simply has to clip her nails while she's waiting for her chai behind some college kid in his pajamas. Yes, they are really wearing p.j.'s. And slippers. Sometimes fuzzy ones. Sometimes bunnies.

If only all this homey behavior - dressing for bed, spewing crumbs, yakking about innards - meant we actually treated each other more like family. Or ... wait!

That's exactly what we are doing and it's gross!

America, it is time to brush yourself off, shut off that phone and go back to treating strangers like strangers.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and the media consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Lenore Skenazy is a columnist for The New York Daily News. Comment by clicking here.

Lenore Skenazy Archives



© 2005 NY Daily News