Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan. 23, 2014/ 22 Shevat, 5774

National security priority? Education

By Martin Schram




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | They are burning the midnight kilowatts in the West Wing. And they'll probably be cutting and pasting until President Obama climbs into his limo next Tuesday night and drives 16 blocks to the gleaming-white, floodlit Capitol.

The president's policy and message massagers are frantically making sure all the president's must-keep themes are still in his 2014 State of the Union text. We can only hope they haven't overlooked — yet again! — one bold national security priority that could become the capstone of Barack Obama's presidential legacy.

Truth is, they've always understood the urgency. They even had the benefit of hearing an unscripted question that said it all, back in 2010, at a campaign town meeting at George Washington University.

"Mr. President, you have pointed out that U.S. students have fallen from the top 20 nations in math and science and test scores — and jobs and contracts are going overseas," said Francesca Yabraian, an Agriculture Department employee. "You've called education a national priority. But do you think it is time to label education funding a national security priority?"

Exactly! Today, education must be declared a national security priority.

Obama instantly got it and ran with it. "I think it's a national security priority," he said. "Look, there has never been a nation on earth that lost its economic edge and maintained its military edge. And the reason we have the most effective military on earth, in the history of the world, is first and foremost because we have unbelievable men and women in uniform who make sacrifices on our behalf every single day.



"But the second reason is that we've had the biggest economy in the world that can support this incredible armed forces that we have. And if we start falling behind economically, we will start falling behind from a national security perspective — there's no doubt about it. And the single most important determinant of how we do economically is going to be the skills of our work force. And you're exactly right.

"We used to be at the top of the heap when it came to math and science education; we are now 21st and 25th respectively in science and math. Other countries are making huge investments. China is doubling, tripling, quadrupling the number of college graduates it is generating. And yet, here we are, losing that first-place position. That is unacceptable."

Obama and Education Secretary Arne Duncan have undertaken a number of programs aimed at reversing America's slide in education results. Still, government alone cannot fix what is wrong — but we can.

Four years ago, Obama told educators in a White House speech what South Korea's president had told him was his biggest education problem. "He told me his biggest challenge in education wasn't budget holes, it wasn't crumbling schools — it was that the parents were too demanding. He's had to import thousands of foreign teachers because parents insisted on English language training in elementary school. The mayor of Shanghai, China told me teaching is revered (there) and the pay scales are comparable to professions like doctors."

Duncan noted in a recent speech that while many U.S. teachers come from the bottom third of college graduates, South Korean teachers are selected from the top 5 percent of high school students; they get six months' training after being hired, are well paid and get bonuses.

A generation ago, Americans were No. 1 in the world in percentages of college graduates. Now America is 12th — South Korea is first. "Both South Korean and U.S. citizens believe that the caliber of teacher matters tremendously," Duncan said. " The difference is: they act on their belief. We don't. We talk the talk, and they walk the walk."

We, the people, will never be able to form a more perfect union until we rethink our cultural and fiscal education priorities. In this looming national security crisis, our politicians are not our greatest problem — we are.

It might be unstately to end a State of the Union Address with a question, but Obama would do well to conclude Tuesday's speech by repeating what Duncan bluntly asked:

"I want to pose one simple question to you: Does a child in South Korea deserve a better education than your child? If your answer is no — that no child in America deserves any less than a world-class education — then your work is cut out for you."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.


Previously:


12/25/13: A New Year's Resolution to revitalize presidential press conferences

12/04/13: U.N. nuclear fuel bank may save us from next Iran

11/27/13: We must not fool ourselves about Barack Hussein Carter

11/13/13: Let's honor our veterans by ending Veterans Day Sales

10/30/13: Could dyslexia be a 'desirable' disability?

09/18/13: Syria's big picture, as Vladimir Putin sees it

08/28/13: Kerry finally gets his moment to look presidential --- at least somebody is

08/08/13: Latest political scandals seem like reruns --- in fact, they seem like parodies of themselves

07/03/13: NSA reforms will come, securing liberty and homeland

07/03/13: As student loan rates double, Congress fails to act

06/05/13: Scandal chatter drowns out best and worst news

05/29/13: Obama vs. Obama

03/13/13: VA's growing backlog needs attention now

03/06/13: When a presidency and press corps collide

02/27/13: Washington unintentionally but predictably triggering a coast-to-coast tsunami, freezing job hiring

02/21/13: Cold War vestiges still afflict 2 nuclear cities

01/16/13: Turnabout sucks

01/09/13: Education must be America's new national security priority

11/29/12: Building a budgetary bridge to somewhere

11/24/12: Voters share blame for negative campaigns

10/24/12: Romney displays unusual strategy for winning

10/17/12: Russia drops a bombshell on U.S. nuclear safeguard plan and few notice

10/11/12: A new debate game plan for a new comeback

07/25/12: Washington news, sanitized for officials' comfort

07/18/12: By withholding, Mitt Romney taxes campaign

06/20/12: Cruel consequences spring from an old leak

06/13/12: Gaffes, not facts, dominate presidential race

06/06/12: Command decisions mark new era of video-game warfare

04/25/12: Safeguarding us all in the nuclear age

04/18/12: The battle for the honor of enraging us more

03/28/12: Eavesdropping on diplomacy and politics

02/22/12: Drawing Romney's big picture

01/25/12: Candidates proving that time-tested Marxist theory

01/12/12: Even with primaries still to go, history's longest year starts now

01/05/12: Iowa caucuses reveal news media lapses

12/14/11: How Gingrich stole Mitt's Christmas

11/16/11: Supercommittee's super-sized surrender

11/16/11: Romney talks Texas-tough on Iran

11/03/11: The Silent Majority speaks at last

10/20/11: Outsourcing our democracy; hijacking our holidays

10/13/11: Decline and fall of presidential press conferences

09/28/11: Washington's Monument to broken government

08/17/11: Tax credits for job creation

07/06/11: Obama's on-the-job retraining from Clinton

06/29/11: Obama, Nixon suddenly joined in posterity



© 2011, SCRIPPS HOWARD NEWS SERVICE

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast