Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan 13, 2014/ 12 Shevat, 5774

Of the court, Catholicism, cartoons & Satans

By Christine M. Flowers

Christine M. Flowers


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) In 2007, a Philadelphia Pulitzer-winning cartoonist made a stir with his unique depiction of the Supreme Court.

Samuel Alito had been confirmed the year before, which meant that the judicial bullpen had a full complement of Roman Catholics: Antonin Scalia, Clarence Thomas, Anthony Kennedy, John Roberts and Phillies Fan Sam.

Tony Auth decided to commemorate the occasion, along with a landmark ruling invalidating a common form of partial-birth abortion, by drawing the five Catholics with bishop's miters on their heads.

A picture is worth a thousand words, and although this one was actually quite worthless from the standpoint of intellectual acuity, it did get the artist's point across: abortion is good for women, anyone who hates abortion hates women, the five justices who were in the majority thus hated women and apparently did so because they were Catholic. No other reason.

I remember thinking that this cartoon was particularly "cartoonish" in its depiction of the Supreme Court's reasoning, and comfortably simplistic for the pro-choice crowd who were served their villains on a silver platter: Catholic men.

The years passed, as did my sense of righteous indignation because I realized that I could simply turn the page if I didn't like (and I didn't) what I saw. Furthermore, the days when Protestants took to the streets and burned down papist churches were long gone. The only things inflammatory now were the news releases from NARAL and Planned Parenthood, groups that became increasingly strident and desperate as the next generation became increasingly pro-life.



As a Catholic woman I would just say "pshaw" very loudly and make a sniffing motion every time I was in the vicinity of those rather vocal Madame Ovaries. Tony Who?

That worked for a long while, and I'd almost convinced myself that anti-Catholicism was a figment of Catholic League's Bill Donohoe's imagination. I was even inclined to believe that perhaps it was a good idea to muffle my displeasure at certain, shall we say, slanderous comments by Bill Maher, since the reptilian fellow seems to actually thrive on negative attention. (As an aside, I'm in the process of reading "Paradise Lost" and am amazed at how Milton was able to model Satan after someone who wouldn't even be born for another four hundred years. Masterful.)

Then, my old editor sent me the link to an article this week by a woman who attacked another Supreme Court justice for being Catholic.

Interestingly, the writer is a Swarthmore grad. Bear with me, because it does have relevance.

As someone who spent four years at Bryn Mawr, which formed the third point of the Tri-College Triangle in Delaware County (the other one being Haverford,) I have some personal experience with the type of being that goes to Swarthmore. This person, particularly if it is a woman, is convinced that anything "right" is "wrong." They also tend to have a rather radical view of religion and its legitimacy outside of the pew.

So, this Swarthmore graduate named Jamie Stiehm wrote an article titled "The Catholic Supreme Court's War On Women," because she knew that if she did this, she would get a lot of attention and end up as a topic of discussion on Fox, in the National Review and at dinner tables where people don't think that Catholic Supreme Court justices are brainwashed by the holy water.

Stiehm was outraged that Justice Sotomayor had issued a stay blocking Obamacare's birth control mandate at the request of a group of nuns. It doesn't matter that this is the sort of thing justices do all the time (Sotomayor and her colleagues also enjoined the State of Utah from conducting same-sex marriages while the issue was on appeal.) Never mind that she gave the other side an opportunity to plead its case (which it did, rather anemically.) Stiehm attributed Sotomayor's judicial decision to her Catholicism, or, as she put it, being a "good Catholic girl."

Stiehm ignores statistics showing that "good Catholic girls" are just as likely to use artificial birth control as those in the general population. She does this because it would undermine her Catholic-bashing bottom line.

Make no mistake: Stiehm is a bigot of the highest order, and showed her hand with this comment: "(It) seems that (Sotomayor) has joined the ranks of the five Republican Catholic men on the John Roberts Court in showing a clear religious bias when it comes to women's rights and liberties."

She goes on to say that Thomas Jefferson was thinking about "pernicious Rome" when he talked about that separation between church and state.

I could dismiss Stiehm as an Auth-like blip on the radar.

I'd be wrong.

A couple of years ago, when Sotomayor was nominated to the bench, many of her most strident supporters loved the fact that she talked about being a "wise Latina," which was code for being empathetic.

Yes, they said, bring on those rich life experiences!

Except, apparently, if they happen to involve a crucifix.

Christine M. Flowers is a lawyer and columnist for the Philadelphia Daily News. Comments by clicking here.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Previously:



12/30/13: Of men, Giants and Texas Greeks bearing fourth-down conversions
10/28/13: Sense may be in short supply, but that gives us plenty to write about
10/16/13: Hail to the Redskins
10/14/13: It's the most wonderful time of the year
10/07/13: Congress teetering on the edge
09/18/13: It is Miss 'America,' after all, not Miss 'Special Interest Group'
09/16/13: America & its Miss'ed opportunities
09/10/13: We still must be civilization's gatekeepers
09/03/13: Around the world, the cross is in the crosshairs
08/19/13: Blood is on stop-and-frisk judge's hands
08/13/13: Hey, social progressives: Women can actually think with an organ other than a uterus
08/06/13: Media make our enemies seem friendly
07/29/13: Mrs. Anthony Weiner = Hillary 2.1
07/08/13: A voice of reason, from the dustbin
07/04/13: Heroes are all around us
05/27/13: Vietnam vet's words soothe modern tragedies
05/22/13: Circling the presidential-protection wagons
05/15/13: Divorce can't be just the pursuit of happiness
05/07/13: We knew Jackie Robinson, and Jason Collins is no Jackie Robinson
05/01/13: Blame pro-choice lobby for Philly monster
04/23/13: Of damnation, and staring back
04/15/13: Margaret Thatcher changed the world, and didnít have to be a feminist to do it
04/08/13: Taking great pleasure in the death penalty
04/01/13: An easy prediction --- bet on the unpredictable
03/26/13: 'The personal is political' is no reason to change
03/19/13: A word to the whines --- it was just some high jinks
03/11/13: The Great Race Debate, revisited
03/04/13: Marriage goes beyond love
02/19/13: 2 women, and what they're fighting for
02/04/13: Sadly, Scouting seems poised to give up the fight
01/15/13: Reflections from Gettysburg
01/02/13: The mentally ill vs. those who love them
12/27/12: Rapper learns he's just another guy on probation
12/20/12: Cold, hard truth about the killer
12/10/12: When a warm heart meets a cold manipulator
11/22/12: Some women don't know how good they have it


© 2013, Philadelphia Daily News. Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast