Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan 20, 2014 /

Crime and Justice Issues Are on the Public's Radar

By Diane Dimond




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Last year's tally is now in, and the news story that garnered the most searches on the Internet was ... (can I get a drum roll, please?) ... A crime story!

Before I get to the winner, may I just say that life, as a crime and justice columnist, is sometimes a lonely one. I don't think there's another writer in America who — week in and week out — concentrates only on issues surrounding our justice system. I'm fascinated by the topic but, sometimes, I wonder how many of you readers are. Sure, I get mail from many of you, and I truly appreciate it, but now I have some real statistics to back up the idea that Americans are, indeed, interested in following crime and justice stories.

There's a company called Searchmetrics, which keeps track of trends and clicks and views of just about everything on the worldwide web. It also identifies which U.S. newspapers are the most popular on Twitter (The winner last year: the Washington Post, which had its articles tweeted out more than 275,000 times) and which individual stories have been shared most often.

So, the Twitter traffic winner of 2013 was a USA Today article about Evan Spencer Ebel, a 28-year-old parolee from Denver who was a prime suspect in the shooting death of Tom Clements, the director of the Colorado Department of Corrections. One evening in March 2013, Clements, 58, answered the door at his home and was shot dead. The FBI was called in, and the fact that a top prison official could be killed on his own doorstep captivated readers. In addition, Ebel was wanted in connection with the shooting death of Nathan Leon, a Colorado pizza delivery driver.

The winning article vividly described how law enforcement in Texas ended the nationwide manhunt for Ebel after a spectacular, cross-county, high-speed chase. After crashing into an 18-wheeler hauling a load of rocks and shooting at several sheriffs' deputies, Ebel was shot in the head. Police discovered his gun was the same caliber used to kill Clements and Leon. In the Cadillac, deputies found a Domino's pizza box.

Hundreds of thousands thought that story was interesting enough to share it with others. It was tweeted out a total of 408,816 times!



The second most-tweeted article last year was from the Washington Post and had to do with the investigative findings into the case of Adam Lanza, the disturbed young man who killed his mother and then 26 others inside an elementary school in Newtown, Connecticut. That article was shared 361,259 times.

The third most-tweeted story had to do with the presidential election in Kenya, but in the fourth and fifth slots — more crime and justice stories. Number four was an article on the U.S. Supreme Court and potential action on provisions of the voting law (308,926 tweets). And No. five was a story and a pictorial spread about a massive rally outside the U.S. Supreme Court on the day the justices heard the first of two cases involving gay marriage.

I know a tweet count is far from hard scientific data, but consider it a sort of Internet focus group on how citizens react to today's overabundance of news. As the Searchmetrics list clearly shows the top stories on the Twitterverse weren't about celebrity breakups or addictions, they weren't about sports or movies or business news. That so many hundreds of thousands of Americans would bother to tweet so many crime and justice articles helps erase the idea that the public is apathetic about the topic.

I hope it also signals to media executives a renewed interest in news outside the political sphere. Certainly, it is important to be informed about what our elected officials are doing (or not doing), but if you watch any of the three major cable news channels — CNN, Fox and MSNBC — you know what I mean. Each of those networks has major staff based in Washington, D.C., and each continues to stubbornly cling to a lineup of news that's heavy with national politics. No matter that we, the news-consuming audience, are transfixed by stories that have little or nothing to do with bickering politicians.

My point in looking back at the most popular news stories of 2013 is twofold. First is a very personal reason — the knowledge that I am not alone in caring about crime and justice issues. From nationwide manhunts and shootouts illuminated by the fire of an exploding Cadillac to legal cases that define who we are legally allowed to love and marry — these are topics that define who we are as a people.

The second reason is to thank all those who take the time to stay informed about what is going on in the world around you. It is so important. In these seemingly contradictory, us-versus-them days, when we define ourselves by which candidate we voted for, it is really nice — dare I say, heartening — to know so many Americans still want to be well-versed on news that's not so readily available by flipping on the television.

Thanks for caring. And thanks for reading this column every week. As a wise man — a mentor of mine — once told me, "You can never go wrong having too much information in your head."

ARCHIVES:

Interested in a private Judaic studies instructor — for free? Let us know by clicking here.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes inspiring articles. Sign up for our daily update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

Investigative journalist and syndicated columnist Diane Dimond has covered all manner of celebrity and pop culture stories.








© 2013, Creators Syndicate FOOT_DELIMITER ; echo $article_footer; } ?>