Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan. 16, 2013/ 5 Shevat, 5773

Turnabout sucks

By Martin Schram




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | America is rolling toward another presidential inaugural week with many folks thinking everything in Washington sucks -- and in fact, they do have a point.

But at least we've finally figured out what's causing the "giant sucking sound" that Texas billionaire Ross Perot used to say he could hear inside the Beltway. It's caused by two huge leadership vacuums at either end of Pennsylvania Avenue.

We saw it with our own ears, just this past Monday.

At a news conference at 1600 Pennsylvania Ave., President Barack Obama said congressional Republicans will rain economic hell down upon all Americans and transform the country into "a deadbeat nation" if they successfully block the once-ritualistic raising of the debt ceiling that permits the government to pay its existing bills. Republicans vow to oppose raising the debt ceiling unless Democrats agree to dollar-for-dollar spending cuts matching each new debt-ceiling dollar.

Hear the president:

"If congressional Republicans refuse to pay America's bills on time, Social Security checks and veterans' benefits will be delayed. We might not be able to pay our troops, or honor our contracts with small business owners. Food inspectors, air traffic controllers, specialists who track down loose nuclear material wouldn't get their paychecks. ... Markets could go haywire. Interest rates would spike for anybody who borrows money -- every homeowner with a mortgage, every student with a college loan, every small business owner who wants to grow and hire."

Meanwhile, 16 blocks down Pennsylvania Avenue, members of Congress who oppose another routine raising of the debt ceiling were explaining why. As you listen, you'll have to admit their argument rings as eloquently as Obama's.

Hear one senator:

"The fact that we are here today to debate raising America's debt limit is a sign of leadership failure. It is a sign that the U.S. government can't pay its own bills. ... It is a sign that we now depend on ongoing financial assistance from foreign countries to finance our government's reckless fiscal policies. ... This rising debt is a hidden domestic enemy, robbing our cities and states of critical investments in infrastructure like bridges, ports and levees; robbing our families and our children of critical investments in education and health-care reform; robbing our seniors of the retirement and health security they have counted on. Every dollar we pay in interest is a dollar that is not going to investment in America's priorities. ... I therefore intend to oppose the effort to increase America's debt limit."

Oops -- to quote another Texan, Gov. Rick Perry -- pardon my computer-research error. Actually, it turns out that quotation isn't from this year's debt-ceiling debate. It's from 2006, back when yet another Texan, President George W. Bush, wanted to routinely raise the debt ceiling -- so Democrats reflexively opposed it. And the senator speaking above was the freshman from Illinois, Barack Obama.

That explains why the senator's argument seemed so impressive -- and why so many Americans and observers half a world away view Washington with contempt and confusion. Today, Washington is Hate City; it is populated by pols who scheme for partisan gain and shun patriotic duty.

In 2006 and today, the debt-ceiling/deficit-spending principal truths were clear and consistent: America must pay its debts, so the ceiling must be raised; America must cut its deficits, so spending must be cut. We must rethink some basic entitlement assumptions. We must sew shut tax loopholes, subsidies, giveaways and look-the-other-ways.

Leadership in Washington needs to be born again. A good way to start would have been for Obama, House Speaker John Boehner and Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell to begin leading by putting their cards face up on the table. Show us their best bold proposals for the cuts they know we need. After all, there are no secrets anymore.

"We can achieve that, and we can achieve it fairly quickly," Obama said in his news conference. "I mean, we know what the numbers are. We know what needs to be done." So do it.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.


Previously:


01/09/13: Education must be America's new national security priority

11/29/12: Building a budgetary bridge to somewhere

11/24/12: Voters share blame for negative campaigns

10/24/12: Romney displays unusual strategy for winning

10/17/12: Russia drops a bombshell on U.S. nuclear safeguard plan and few notice

10/11/12: A new debate game plan for a new comeback

07/25/12: Washington news, sanitized for officials' comfort

07/18/12: By withholding, Mitt Romney taxes campaign

06/20/12: Cruel consequences spring from an old leak

06/13/12: Gaffes, not facts, dominate presidential race

06/06/12: Command decisions mark new era of video-game warfare

04/25/12: Safeguarding us all in the nuclear age

04/18/12: The battle for the honor of enraging us more

03/28/12: Eavesdropping on diplomacy and politics

02/22/12: Drawing Romney's big picture

01/25/12: Candidates proving that time-tested Marxist theory

01/12/12: Even with primaries still to go, history's longest year starts now

01/05/12: Iowa caucuses reveal news media lapses

12/14/11: How Gingrich stole Mitt's Christmas

11/16/11: Supercommittee's super-sized surrender

11/16/11: Romney talks Texas-tough on Iran

11/03/11: The Silent Majority speaks at last

10/20/11: Outsourcing our democracy; hijacking our holidays

10/13/11: Decline and fall of presidential press conferences

09/28/11: Washington's Monument to broken government

08/17/11: Tax credits for job creation

07/06/11: Obama's on-the-job retraining from Clinton

06/29/11: Obama, Nixon suddenly joined in posterity



© 2011, SCRIPPS HOWARD NEWS SERVICE

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast