Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan 24, 2013/ 13 Shevat, 5773

Ben Affleck's life is still worth living

By Barry Koltnow




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) There was a serious problem the minute they tried to squeeze a square peg (nine best picture nominees) into a round hole (five best director nominees).

"They," of course, are the nearly 6,000 members of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences who cast votes for the Oscars. As soon as the academy decided that nine films would be honored, while only five directors would be recognized, four filmmakers were destined to be snubbed.

And there is no way to feel other than snubbed when your film is nominated as best picture, and you are not nominated as best director. After all, if your film was good enough to be nominated as best picture, it is only logical that you also be nominated. Best picture nominees don't direct themselves.

When this year's five nominees were announced (Steven Spielberg, Ang Lee, David O. Russell, Benh Zeitlin and Michael Haneke), the directors immediately feeling a snub included Kathryn Bigelow ("Zero Dark Thirty"), Tom Hooper ("Les MisÚrables"), Quentin Tarantino ("Django Unchained") and Ben Affleck ("Argo").

This column is not meant to imply that the five nominated directors are undeserving, but rather it is a plea to correct this professional slight in the future. Make it a rule that the directing category be expanded in direct correlation to the expanded best picture category. It's only fair.

In the meantime, I am concerned about how the snubbed directors are learning to live with their public humiliation. In particular, I am worried about Ben.

Bigelow ("The Hurt Locker") and Hooper ("The King's Speech") have won directing Oscars before. Tarantino won an Oscar for his "Pulp Fiction" screenplay. Yes, Affleck also won a screenplay Oscar ("Good Will Hunting") but he had to share it with best buddy Matt Damon. He has no solo gold to put on the mantel. Whenever someone congratulates him on the Academy Award, he is obliged to point out that Damon did some of the work.

It was a fascinating but confusing week for Affleck, who was unceremoniously dumped by Lady Oscar in the morning, and then was handed a best director prize later the same day from the Broadcast Film Critics Association. It doesn't matter that these are the same 270 critics who never met a movie they didn't like, and then fill endless movie ads with gushing quotes. Their award helped ease the pain for Affleck, and I'm sure he appreciated it.

A few days later, there was another shocking development in the continuing Ben Affleck Snub Saga when the Hollywood Foreign Press Association gave him a Golden Globe for best director, and then topped off the evening with a best picture nod.

Ordinarily, these two critics awards would establish Affleck as the frontrunner in the Oscar race, but we don't want to gang up on the poor guy. Still, two meaningless awards are better than nothing.

I suspect that once the shine fades on those two awards, and all the Oscar hype begins, Affleck is going to get pretty depressed.

I'm really worried about what he might to do. Therefore, I've put together a list to remind Affleck of everything for which he should be grateful. That's right; here are 10 reasons why Ben Affleck should live a full and rewarding life, long after Oscar night is forgotten.

Always remember, Ben, that it's always darkest right before the trailers start.

1. You're still tall, rich and handsome.

2. You're still married to Jennifer Garner.

3. You're still daddy to three beautiful kids.

4. You're still best friends with Matt Damon, who would take a rubber bullet for you. Maybe even a real bullet.

5. You're still putting distance between you and that whole Jennifer Lopez fiasco, when you were reduced to selling tabloids instead of selling movies. With each passing day, fewer people associate you with the words "Gigli," "Bennifer" and "Surviving Christmas."

6. You're still the director of three respected movies — "Gone Baby Gone," "The Town" and "Argo."

7. You're still able to pick up the phone and call George Clooney on his private line.

8. You're still in possession of two fallback professions in case this directing thing doesn't work out. You can always write, and you can always act.

9. You're still one heck of a poker player, winning the California State Poker Championship in 2004, and a spot in the World Series of Poker. That wasn't a celebrity seat, but a real poker player's slot you earned.

10. You're still Ben Affleck. You're allowed 24 hours after the Oscars to feel down. By Feb. 25, the grace period is over. Get on with your life. Direct another movie and maybe we'll see you at next year's Oscars.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Barry Koltnow's column by clicking here.


Previously:

The black market for movie raves
The 10 worst movies of 2012
2012's most annoying celebrities
Lindsay Lohan needs to be ignored
Red Dawn' remake reflects China's box-office pull
Fall movie season ends with lessons learned
The 10 best Bond villains ever
Readers weigh in on confusing movies
10 most confusing movies of all time
Do you enjoy going out to the movies?
Sylvester Stallone, the Dalai Lama and me
Watch August movies at your own risk
Nothing new in the new Spider-Man movie
Grading the summer movies . . . so far
Readers are angry about TV network practices, too
TV networks have some explaining to do
The night Johnny Depp made me a star
Summer movies: the dark horses
Lindsay, Ashton, Kim --- are they kidding?
Readers pick their favorite baseball movies
Our 10 favorite baseball movies
The most over-hyped movies of 2012
The 10 worst best pictures ever
The greatest Oscar acceptance speech NEVER given
The worst biopics ... ever
20 celebrity questions that must be answered in 2012
The Golden Globes are meaningless
The 10 Most Annoying Celebrities of 2011
The funniest comedy teams
Fake celebrities ignite real controversy
Hollywood: Stop spoiling our movies
Mob expert reveals his favorite gangster flicks
Good riddance, Harry Potter
The coolest car movies ever made
Our favorite teacher movies
Are women funny?
Our special snarky summer movie guide
The 10 most pressing show biz questions
Readers weigh in on the royal wedding
The royal wedding: I don't get it
Readers reach verdict on lawyer column
Our favorite lawyer movies ever
Readers pick their worst Oscar winners
The 10 worst best pictures ever
25 hit-man movies to die for
The 10 greatest sidekicks ever
The 10 biggest celebrity missteps of 2010
Who's cooler than Steve McQueen? (Answer: nobody)
The best revenge movies ever
The good old days, when celebrities weren't train wrecks
Making sport of celebrities
Youth will be served? Don't give me that trash!
A celebrity answer is no answer at all
Caution: geniuses at work



© 2010, The Orange County Register; Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast