Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan 2, 2012/ 7 Teves, 5772

For 2012, tuck some hope into your wallet

By Sharon Randall




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | At the end of a year, I like to look back, count my blessings and give thanks for whatever the new year may bring.

The older I get, the more I think the only real difference we can make in life is to be grateful. It's simple, but not always easy.

For my family, perhaps like yours, this year has been one of change. It began in that most dreaded of ways, with the loss of a loved one. In February, we buried my husband's father, a man who'd convinced me, with the beauty of his character, that I'd be smart to marry his son.

A few days after his memorial service, I flew to South Carolina to speak to preschool teachers in the Spartanburg County First Steps program. I told them there is no finer calling, no work more important than the role they play in helping children get a good start in life. And I smiled to see them nod in agreement.

A week later, hours ahead of a snowstorm, I arrived in Redkey, Ind., to meet the children of Redkey Elementary, along with their parents and teachers. We talked about reading and writing and life, traded stories and hugs, and parted friends.

In March, I stayed home and did laundry. Then I spent Easter in California with my kids.

My youngest and his wife brought their 10-month-old to visit us in Las Vegas for the Fourth of July, leaving me with one of my happiest memories: sitting at a window watching fireworks and rocking my grandson, while his parents and my husband swam in the pool.

In August, I flew to Charlotte, N.C., to meet the members of Turning Pages Book Club, most of whom were, or had been at one time, homeless.

They had just read a book I wrote about home and family, from growing up in the South to raising my children in California. We talked for an hour, sharing stories, asking questions, finding common ground. Given a chance, we might have talked for days.

In September, my husband and I were rewarded for all our years as parents with the arrival of two grandbabies: a girl, born to his son and his girlfriend, and one day later, a boy, born to my daughter and her husband.

My sister came out from South Carolina for Thanksgiving, stayed two weeks, and we never ran out of people to talk about.

December was packed, as it should be, with visits to and from family and friends. Now I'm looking at a new calendar with pages yet to be filled.

A few nights ago, we went to see "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo." Fearing it might be sold out, my husband bought tickets in advance on line. When we got to the theater, he dropped me in front and handed me his wallet.

"You might need my credit card to get the tickets," he said. "I'll park and meet you inside."

Minutes later, when we were watching previews, I reached in my pocket to get his wallet. To my horror, it wasn't there.

For a moment, I thought about my life, how good it had been and how it was about to change.

"I'm going to the restroom," I whispered. Then I sprinted to the kiosk where I'd printed the tickets. No wallet. I dumped out my purse. No wallet. I took off my coat and turned the pockets inside out. No wallet anywhere.

Finally, I went to the ticket window. "Did anybody by any chance turn in a wallet?"

The ticket person called the manager. A long minute later, the manager showed up smiling with my husband's wallet.

I kissed him. Someone had found it on the floor and turned it in with cash and credit cards intact. No, he said, they didn't leave a name or number.

I told you that story to tell you this: If you think about the year ahead and wonder what it may bring, don't worry. Be hopeful.

Things don't always go from bad to worse. Stories don't always end badly. Some people still do the right thing. And for that, I am truly thankful.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.


Previously:


The measure of a time well spent is not where you went or what you did. It's the way you smile remembering it

Treating people we love like the Jello salad at Thanksgiving dinner

We all need something or someone to pull for

Hold on to treasured words, don't trust memory

A storybook princess

Love reaches forward, never back

How to Watch a Sunset

Waiting often comes with gifts

An exceptional book club

There is no guilt in moving forward

Celebrations full of love and buttercream

It takes a whole village of shoes to raise a child

The best stories always tell us who we are

Stop, look back . . . and listen

The great outdoors, if one's lucky, a rock-solid companion

An iChat with my grandson

Lightening bugs and other things make us glow

Each and every Fourth of July a cause for celebration



© 2012, SCRIPPS HOWARD NEWS SERVICE

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles