Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Ask Mr. Know-It-All

By Gary Lee Clothier




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Q: I was sitting in a coffee shop and noticed a patron who appeared to be reading. Someone came up to him and began talking; the patron appeared to ignore him. The other person touched his shoulder and asked if he was OK. The seated person seemed startled and apologized, saying something like he must have been having a "Walter Mitty moment." They both laughed and started a conversation. Who is Walter Mitty? -- F.N., Ames, Iowa

A: "The Secret Life of Walter Mitty" is a short story by James Thurber, published in 1939. Walter Mitty is a henpecked husband who, among other things, dutifully drives his wife to town to run errands and visit a hairdresser while he patiently waits. One day Mitty has five heroic daydreams in which he is a Navy pilot, a brilliant surgeon, an expert marksman and a bombardier on his way to attack a German ammunition dump. In his final fantasy, he defiantly faces a firing squad. The story was made into a stage play and, in 1947, a movie. A remake of the film, starring Ben Stiller, is planned for 2013.

Q: In my woodworking shop, I have an old Shopsmith with all the attachments. It needs new belts, and the top shelf also needs to be replaced. Where can I get replacement parts? Is Shopsmith still being made? -- D.S., Toluca, Ill.

A: Shopsmith is a multipurpose woodworking tool that was introduced in 1953. The Shopsmith company currently manufactures the Mark 7, which includes a table saw, lathe, drill press, disc sander and three other tools. Call Shopsmith's customer service staff for product maintenance and repair information at 800-762-7555.

Q: I enjoy wine, but I know very little about it. I go by the rule of thumb of serving white wine chilled and red wine at room temperature. I store my whites in a refrigerator that is set in the upper 30-degree range. My reds are on a shelf in the basement, but in the summer in my un-air-conditioned home, the temperature may be in the 90s, while in January and February, the temperature is in the upper 60s.

I'm going to order a refrigerated wine storage unit. What is the ideal temperature to set it? -- V.L., Marblehead, Mass.

A: Red wines stored at 65 degrees or higher will lose flavor and balance. When overly chilled, white wines also will lose flavor and aroma. Wide fluctuations in temperature will damage wine.

The ideal temperature for storing red wine is between 50 and 55 degrees. White wines can be stored at lower temperatures, say, 45 degrees. However, opinions differ on the proper storage temperature. I suggest you discuss this with your wine merchant.

DID YOU KNOW? The most-nominated actress for an Academy Award is Meryl Streep, with 16 (13 for Best Actress and three for Best Supporting Actress). In second place is Katharine Hepburn, with 12 nominations.

Q: I have a vague recollection of one of the astronauts writing initials in the lunar surface before departing for Earth. Am I right? Who were the last astronauts to walk on the moon? -- F.G.H., San Diego

A: You are right. The last astronauts to walk on the moon were mission Commander Eugene Cernan and Harrison Schmitt. The astronauts of Apollo 17 landed on the moon on Dec. 11, 1972, and left on Dec. 14. Before Cernan left the moon, he wrote his 9-year-old daughter's initials -- TDC (Teresa "Tracy" Dawn Cernan) -- on the surface. Since the moon does not experience weather conditions, her initials could stay there indefinitely.

=<<


Comment by clicking here.


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Previously:


#22
#21
#20
#19
#18
#17
#16
#15
#14
#13
#12
#11
#10
#9
#8
#7
#6
#5
#4
#3
#2
#1


© 2011, Gary Clothier DISTRIBUTED BY UNIVERSAL UCLICK

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles