Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan 18, 2012/ 23 Teves, 5772

A New Entry for 100 People Who Are Screwing Up America

By Bernard Goldberg



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Back in 2005 I wrote a book called 100 People Who Are Screwing Up America — and Al Franken is #37. It was about the chuckleheads in our culture and politics who were, well, screwing up America.

At number 100 were Paris Hilton's parents for raising such a twit. Paris was "hot" at the time so I figured, what the heck, and wrote this about her parents: "If they gave Nobel Prizes for the mom and dad who raised the most vapid, empty-headed, inane, hollow, vain, tasteless, self-centered, useless twerp in the entire country — maybe in the entire world — Rich and Kathy Hilton would be on their way to Stockholm to pick up the medal."

The others who made the list were serious people who were causing real trouble. There was Congresswoman Maxine Waters, at number 47, for her general hatefulness. Bill Moyers made the list, at number 34, after he said — in his oh-so-earnest way — that "right-wing wrecking crews" were out to bankrupt the government in order to enrich the corporate interests, and that, "I think this is a deliberate, intentional destruction of the United States of America." Conservatives were intentionally trying to destroy America? Come on, Bill!

Moyers' intellectual soul mate, Noam Chomsky, came in at number 11, for his own anti-American brand of intellectualism.

At number two, was a no-brainer: Arthur Ochs Sulzberger, Jr, the publisher of the New York Times, which was once a great newspaper — before Arthur Ochs Sulzberger, Jr. took over.

And at number one, was our favorite hefty lefty, Michael Moore, who was in the news a lot back then for saying dopey things, like this about his fellow Americans: "They are possibly the dumbest people on the planet…"

If I were updating the book now, in 2012, there'd be a lot of contenders for the list — almost everybody on MSNBC, for example — but no one would deserve to be there more than the new Democratic National Chair … Debbie Wasserman Shultz. She would make the list — maybe even topping it at number one — if for no other reason than she's breathtakingly obnoxious. Every time she opens her mouth, you have to figure that it's a vote for some Republican — ANY Republican. What were the Democrats thinking when they picked her as the face and voice of their party? Never mind: these are the same geniuses that picked Nancy Pelosi to speak for the party. By the way, I'm not ruling out the possibility that's she's a mole for the GOP, that she's there because of some really, really cool Republican dirty trick.

We all know that politics isn't for sissies, that it can get pretty rough. But Ms. Wasserman Shultz is just plain nasty. Take the recent Mitt Romney gaffe. By now we know the dumb remark that Romney made about how he likes to fire people. Yes, he meant he likes to fire insurance companies that aren't doing their job the way we, the consumer, want them to. Debbie Wasserman Shultz knows exactly what he meant, but that didn't stop her from saying, "In a shocking and apparent moment of true honesty, Mitt Romney said, 'I like being able to fire people who provide services to me.' That's precisely the approach he took at Bain where his business model was to put profits over people."

She's not the only one who knew better. A few desperate Republicans joined the mud slinging. But unlike the others who can be decent from time to time, Wasserman Shultz is an attack dog who can be counted on for nasty stuff any time she's awake.

Just the other day, she linked the Tea Party to the 2011 massacre in Tucson — despite the fact that the shooter, Jared Lougner, is so crazy that a judge has ruled him unfit to stand trial. There's not a shred of evidence that he ever went to a Tea Party rally or that he even knew what the Tea Party is. That didn't stop Debbie Wasserman Shultz from saying:

"We need to make sure that we tone things down, particularly in light of the Tucson tragedy from a year ago, where my very good friend, Gabby Giffords [was shot]. …The discourse in America, the discourse in Congress in particular . . . has really changed, I'll tell you. I hesitate to place blame, but I have noticed it took a very precipitous turn towards edginess and lack of civility with the growth of the Tea Party movement."

Nice touch, Deb … saying "I hesitate to place blame" … right before you place blame.

JWR contributor Jonathan S. Tobin nailed the Wasserman Shultz hypocrisy in a piece on the Commentary magazine Web site:

"Many liberals initially tried to blame the Tea Party or Sarah Palin or anybody else they could think of on the right for the shooting. But once it was established that the perpetrator was an apolitical lunatic, they quickly dropped that ploy though few, if any, apologized. It takes a special kind of chutzpah to dredge this nastiness up a year later and to do it while calling for more civility in politics."

That's not the only time she used the Tucson tragedy to score political points. Once she actually dragged her 11-year old daughter into the mud, alleging that the young girl said things I'm not at all sure she really said. "After my daughter heard that, you know, Gabby had been shot, the first thing she asked me was, you know, 'Mommy, are you gonna get shot? Does that mean you're going to get shot?'" After Wasserman Shultz supposedly said, "No, of course Mommy will be O.K," her daughter supposedly said, "But Mommy, Florida's going to pass an immigration law like Arizona and then people are going to be mad at you."

Really? An 11-year old girl said, "Florida's going to pass an immigration law like Arizona …." Maybe. But I don't believe it.

And when Republican Congressman Paul Ryan came out with his plan to control government spending, Debbie Wasserman Schultz was at it again.

"We see a clear attempt for the government to back out of its commitment to seniors," she said. "As a result, many seniors in America will be forced into poverty, and worse. Some seniors will end up dying because they are forced to put off getting that pain checked out due to huge out-of-pocket costs that will skyrocket for them. … This plan would literally be a death trap for some seniors."

When Sarah Palin talked about "death panels" the so-called mainstream media went wild. When Wasserman Shultz, a liberal not unlike the reporters who cover politics, says the Ryan plan "would literally be a death trap for some seniors" we get virtually nothing from the lame-streams in the way of outrage. I'm shocked!

You know who else should be on an updated 100 People Who Are Screwing Up America? Debbie Wasserman Shultz' parents — for raising Debbie Wasserman Shultz. All Paris Hilton's parents did was raise a twit. The Shultzes raised an attack dog who gives politics a bad name.

But I'm still not ruling out the possibility that she might be a Republican dirty trick.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment by clicking here.

JWR contributor Bernard Goldberg, the television news reporter and author of several bestselling books, among them, Bias, a New York Times number one bestseller about how the media distort the news. He is widely seen as one of the most original writers and thinkers in broadcast journalism. Mr. Goldberg covered stories all over the world for CBS News and has won 10 Emmy awards for excellence in journalism. He now reports for the widely acclaimed HBO broadcast Real Sports.

He is a graduate of Rutgers University, New Brunswick, New Jersey and a member of the school's Hall of Distinguished Alumni and proprietor of BernardGoldberg.com.


Previously:


01/12/12: The Dream Ticket Could Be a Conservative Nightmare
01/11/12: Now 'Anybody But Romney' Has a Name
12/30/11: I Have a Confession to Make . . .
12/27/11: Know When to Hold 'em and Know When to Fold 'em
12/20/11: NBC News, the KKK and the State of Journalism
12/19/11: Mitt and Newt: Two Rich Guys Arguing Over Money
12/13/11: Donald Trump Is the Greatest; Just Ask Him
12/12/11: Rob Peter to Pay Paul: Bad Economics! Good Politics?
12/07/11: Yeah . . . and Fish Don't Know They're Wet, Either
12/06/11: Did the Media Play Fair with Herman Cain?
12/05/11: Obama to Blue-Collar America: Adios!
11/29/11: We Can Stop the Crazy Train Before It Gets to Greece
11/22/11: Who Can Beat Obama?
11/15/11: The Dumbest Media Question I've Ever Heard
11/09/11: What If Herman Cain Did It?
11/08/11: What If Herman Cain Were a Lib?
11/02/11: Who Can Beat Obama?
11/01/11: We're Approaching the Tipping Point
10/25/11: A Response to the Angry Purists
10/18/11: They're Waiting for Reagan to Hit the Campaign Trail
10/12/11: Read This!!! --- But Only If You Have Nothing Better To Do
10/04/11: Can Obama Win Re-Election?
09/27/11: It's NOT the Economy Stupid, It's Theology
09/20/11: Bad News on the Doorstep
09/09/11: Hypocrisy!
09/06/11: Back to the Future
08/24/11: Hillary vs. Obama in 2012? It'll Never Happen --- I Don't Think
08/22/11: Warning: Conservatives May Be Harmful to Your Mental Health
08/17/11: Warren Buffett, Coddled Billionaire
08/11/11: Too Much Balance in the Media?
08/04/11: All Aboard the Crazy Train
08/01/11: Liberal Hate Speech
07/25/11: With All Due Respect, Go Fly a Kite
07/20/11: Who Is A ‘Natural Born Citizen’?
07/18/11: Guess Who's Not Paying Their Fair Share
07/12/11: Against More Taxes? You May Be a Terrorist!
07/11/11: Casey Anthony: The TV Show
07/06/11: Standards and Double Standards at MSNBC
06/29/11: Is Jon Stewart A Racist?
06/21/11: Let's Play the Race Card --- Just for Fun Of Course
06/20/11: Sarah Palin and Weiner's Weiner
06/03/11: Memo to GOP: Turn Mr. Obama into Mr. Yesterday
05/20/11: I Get Letters From People Who Should Be Locked Up
05/09/11: Is ‘Torture’ Ever Justified?
05/02/11: The Promiscuous Use of the R Word
04/19/11: The Man Behind the Million Dollar Smile
04/12/11: What's the Difference Between Libs in Politics and Libs in the Media?
04/08/11: An Idea Whose Time Has Come — and Gone
03/28/11: The Pundits Are Driving Me Crazy --- And You Thought Qadaffi Is Nuts
03/14/11: No Liberal Bias at NPR — Just Ask NPR
03/10/11: The media's frustration
03/01/11: Progressives Lost in Time . . .
02/23/11: The Lamestreams Strike Again --- This Time in Madison
02/03/11: You MUST Own a Gun --- Or Else!
01/20/11: It Was Horrible, I tell you … HORRIBLE!
01/11/11: Here We Go Again . . .
01/06/11: You Go, Oprah
12/28/10: A Year-Ender --- The MSM and Obama's Fall from Grace 12/14/10: Thank Heaven for Rich People

12/02/10: The Phony Nobility of Wikileaks

© 2011, Bernard Goldberg

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles