Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan. 7, 2010 21 Teves 5770

UFO Myths Hard To Shoot Down

By Roger Simon




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | You don't believe that space aliens came to the United States in 1947, took over the bodies of Americans and turned them into slug-like slaves?


Oh, yeah? Then how do you explain Congress?


On a more serious note, I would like to say I think it is swell that the Air Force has spent about $10 billion investigating UFOs over the past 50 years. It kept them from buying 50 toilet seats.


Air Force Col. John Haynes once held a press conference to demonstrate through the use of credible evidence and logic that no space aliens landed near Roswell, N.M., years ago and that no UFO is being held in a secret location by the U.S. government.


Which, of course, immediately got him branded as a liar and a patsy by the UFO nuts and the reporters who believe them.


"You're confident you're not part of any cover-up, wittingly or unwittingly?" a reporter asked Haynes.


Gee, I wish that reporter had been around during Watergate to ask Richard Nixon that same question.


Nixon probably would have burst out crying and said, "Your question is so good, so penetrating, so really, really well-phrased that I am forced to admit that I am indeed wittingly part of a cover-up. But if I am unwittingly part of a cover-up, how would I know?"


And that was the most intelligent question that Haynes got asked.


The fact is that the UFO craze has never made any sense whatsoever.


Some years ago, I came into contact with J. Allen Hynek, the respected astronomy professor at Northwestern University . Hynek was technical adviser to the movie "Close Encounters of the Third Kind" and was also the inventor of the same phrase.


Hynek told me that he had no concrete proof that UFOs existed but that he believed they did anyway. (I feel the same way about Newt Gingrich.)


Hynek was the director of an organization that checked out UFO reports, and he began sending me his monthly newsletter.


It was fascinating.


In just one month, two teenagers in Placentia, Calif., saw a vehicle shaped like a cigar with portholes; two men in Libau, Manitoba, saw something that looked like an igloo with arms; and two men in Nocero, Italy saw a cone-shaped object with spikes.


I noticed a pattern to such reports: First, they always involved two people. Why? So one could pass the bottle to the other and say, "I bet if we take a few more swigs, that cow over there will begin to look like E.T."

Letter from JWR publisher


And second, look at the places where the aliens showed up: Placentia, Libau and Nocero.


Now, I ask you, if you were an advanced civilization capable of crossing the vast reaches of deep space, would you pick Placentia, Libau and Nocero to land in once you got here? Or would you pick someplace that had both a Starbucks and a Benetton?


Why don't these aliens ever land in New York or Paris or Rome? Or why don't they land on Oprah? (The show, I mean, not the person.)


While I was asking myself this question, Hynek sent me the report of a woman in Red Lion, Pa., who "noticed a structure the size of a ranch house about 200 yards distant."


If I saw such a thing, my first reaction would have been: "Hey, there's a ranch house out there!"


But, no, the woman was convinced it was a space ship because two hours later "the structure was gone without a trace."


Wow! I mean talk about not keeping up with your mortgage payments.


My sole purpose in debunking the UFO craze is so people will stop wasting their energies on silly fantasies and instead involve themselves with the real challenges here on earth.


Maybe. Or maybe I am an unwitting dupe. Maybe I have been taken over by space aliens and I don't even know it.


Maybe I am lulling you into complacency so you puny earthlings will be unprepared when our starship troopers land to enslave you!

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on Roger Simon's column by clicking here.


Roger Simon Archives


© 2009, Creators Syndicate